DJGBC Interview: India Williams Author Of “The Real Hoodwives Of Detroit”

Interview: India Williams Author Of “The Real Hoodwives Of Detroit”

1.Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Detroit, Michigan.

 2.Tell us your latest news?

My newest novel, The Real Hoodwives of Detroit just went live on kindle and the paperbacks will be released at the end of March.


3. When and why did you begin writing?

Reading and Literature were my favorite subjects growing up, so I began writing at a very young age. I wrote poetry and short stories for my own entertainment.


4. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

This may sound silly, but I still haven’t considered myself a writer. Maybe once I’ve become a household name or hit a best-sellers list I’ll see myself differently. J


5. What inspired you to write your first book?

My first novel Dope, Death and Deception was inspired by real life.


6. Do you have a specific writing style?

I wouldn’t say I have a specific writing style however, I typically write in a first person narrative because I want my readers to feel like they know my characters personally. I also tend to write about independent women who put in work themselves.

7. How did you come up with the title?

With all of my novels I think long and hard about the story line and the title just comes to me. I also try to make them catchy to attract readers.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

 I want my readers to know that every action has a consequence when dealing with the streets. Although most of my characters live the good life and have glamorous things, they all come at a cost… and most times it’s not worth it.


9. How much of the book is realistic?

I try to make all of my novels as realistic as possible. I write for the hood, they smell bull**** like a blood hound, so I have to keep it 100.
10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

I would say the experiences in my novels are a combination of things I’ve been through, seen or heard about in one way or another.


11. What books have most influenced your life most?

Well if we’re talking urban fiction, The Coldest Winter Ever introduced me to the game… A Hustler’s wife and True to the Game turned me out… Then After the Dutch series blew me away I never looked. I knew then that I had to join this industry!
12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I would consider K’wan a mentor. Although I haven’t had the chance to meet him personally, I’m very grateful for the game his gives us new comers on the social networks. K’wan has stayed true to himself and his readers, ten years in the game and he is still at the top.

 
13. What book are you reading now?

Currently I’m not reading anything because I have too much writing to do. However, the last book I read was I’d Rather Be Single, which was awesome!


14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

 Author Queen, Kai Storm, Joe Awsum and Pinky Boss Dior just to name a few.
15. What are your current projects?

Currently I’m working on the trilogy to Dope, Death and Deception and helping my daughter with a children’s book.
16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

If I can only name one, it would most definitely be my co-workers. Those ladies have supported me since day one.
17. Do you see writing as a career?

Yes! Writing is absolutely a career.
18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I wouldn’t change a thing.


19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It’s just something that I’ve always loved to do for as long as I can remember. J

 

20. Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Welcome to Detroit, Michigan home of the grittiest, ill’est, hardcore, crime-infested, poverty-stricken neighborhoods in the country. Sometimes referred to as the Murder Capital for the huge murder rate that never ceases to surprise us, The Murder Mitten, or The Dirty Glove for the state’s shape on the U.S. map.

Detroit is home to many; scholars, rappers, athletes, parents, and concerned citizens, but the streets belong to those in the underworld; addicts, dealers, and the women who help run the show from behind the scenes…The Real Hoodwives of Detroit!

No! You won’t see these ladies on any television show, but you will see them make appearances in court for their mans’ hearing, or at the county jail on visiting day. You might even catch them riding shotgun, with a nine tucked in their Fendi bag…waiting to pop off and protect their men at any cost.  And of course, they make appearances in the hood, twenty-four seven…three hundred and sixty-five days of the year!

Follow Nikki, Tonya, Chloe, Mina, and Gucci as they ride you through Detroit, one city-block at a time. Watch as the tales of the black and dangerous unfold right before your eyes. In Detroit, only the raw and real survive – living to see another day. These streets are known for breaking the weak and leaving them helpless, they aren’t made for everybody!

Scared? You should be….WELCOME TO DETROIT!
21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes! For some reason I can’t just jot things down on paper. I actually have to sit down at the computer and freestyle my stories. It’s a gift and a curse because I’m always glued to my computer. J

 

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

My favorite author is Nikki Turner. I love her work because she keeps it original and captivating.


23. Do you to travel much promoting your book(s)?

I’m a wife and a mother with a full-time job. I travel when I can and will try my best to attend most book events.


24. Who designed the covers?

 Streets the Boss is my cover designer. He understands my visions and gets it right the first time. I love his work and look forward to more projects with him.


 25. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

For me, the hardest part is weaving the story together to make sense.


26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that writing the book was the easy part, it’s everything else that’s challenging.


27. Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t be concerned with what everyone else is doing. Stay true to yourself and everything will work out in your favor.
28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! I say it over and over because without readers like you I wouldn’t be able to see my dreams become my reality. I love you all for your continued support and you truly mean the world to me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Contact Information

Screen Name

Website

Email
  • abul2h2@aol.com

5 thoughts on “DJGBC Interview: India Williams Author Of “The Real Hoodwives Of Detroit””

  1. Awesome interview India!

    You provided your readers with great insight as to who you are as a person as well as what motivates your writing.

    P.S. DJGATSBYBOOKCLUB, I love that you support new authors and give them a platform to preview their work.

    Like

Leave a comment