DJGBC Author Spotlight: Hope McGill “The Novelist”

About Hope McGill

10401551_10153892013927783_4714867338226935425_nHope McGill grew up in New York City’s famed neighborhood of Harlem. She began writing at the age of sixteen, but her love of literature began as a child. Reading has always been a means of escape for her. Curling up with a good book helped her to explore the world and meet fascinating people. As she grew older, her appetite for reading grew immensely and the books became more diverse. She began to read books such as, J. California Cooper’s, Life Is Short But Wide, Treasure E Blue’s, Harlem Girl Lost, Octavia Butler’s Bloodchild, as well as the classic, Manchild In The Promised Land by Claude Brown.
The excitement and joy of reading these various authors inspired her to begin writing. Her stories feature real people with real lives, real problems, and extraordinary passion. She wants her work to offer comfort in times when things don’t appear as if they are working out. Her passion for people, music, art, and life, fuel her writing. In the future, she would like to share her personal experiences with young women, by mentoring them or working with community-based programs.

hope-business-cardsQ & A with Hope The Novelist

  • What inspired you to write? I started writing short stories because I wanted to see regular characters in true to life sizes with flaws.
  • Why are you on the cover of your book? My graphic artist had a hard time finding a plus size model in photo stock. Photo stock is a collection of photos used for graphic designers. I couldn’t afford to pay for a model so I used myself.
  • Why did you use song’s as chapter titles? I am lover of good music. Music makes me feel good. It sets the mood and lays down the foundation for a good story.
  • How do you develop the characters? I like to people watch. Some of my characters have come from strangers on the street, others from past experiences.
  • What kinds of books did you love to read as a child? Okay, so this is going to sound really weird but I like my stuff juxtaposed. I would start off reading V. C Andrews and Judy Blume and then pick up a Donald Goines or Iceberg Slim novel. I had to read them in that order too…from one extreme to the next. When I listen to music it’s in the same fashion. I might start of with Sade and then flip it to MOP. My mind just sort of functions best that way.
  • Will there be a Peals Part II? Absolutely! Stay tuned.

*Visit WWW.HOPEMCGILL.COM where you will be able to purchase “Pearls” by Hope McGill and all of Hope The Novelist’s publications. Make sure to come by often for updates.

 

 

Leave a Reply

