DJ Gatsby Book Club Interviews: Author Khalil Hakim “Fade To Black”

  1. Where are you from? Trenton, NJKhalil Book Picture
  2. Tell us your latest news? Fade To Black is set to release Sept 8th.
  3. When and why did you begin writing? I have been writing all my life. Words have a way of captivating the mind
  4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? I’m not sure I still consider myself a writer but I love to write
  5. What inspired you to write your first book? My upbringing and all the knowledge my dad gave me.
  6. Do you have a specific writing style? Not really but I strive to be real and relevant
  7. How did you come up with the title? I came up with title back in 1992. It just sounded so powerful
  8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? There are a few. But you gotta read Fade To Black to see what they are! (smile)
  9. How much of Fade To Black is realistic? Well, let me just say this I am not the man that I use to be.(smile)
  10. What books have most influenced your life most? The Bible and many more, can’t name all of them.
  11. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Tough question but I would say Zora Neale Hurston
  12. What book are you reading now? The Cross and the Lynching Tree by James Cone
  13. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Not really
  14. What are your current projects? Working on getting Fade To Black to out to the world.
  15. fade amazonName one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. The church that I pastor.
  16. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in Fade To Black? Nope. It’s an AMAZING story.
  17. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Yeah, I started out writing poetry and it transformed into writing stories.
  18. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Not really. My writing flows real nice.
  19. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Zora Neale Hurston. She is has no fear in communicating truth.
  20. Do you travel much promoting Fade To Black ? Not yet but that’s the plan.
  21. fade 2015 coverWho designed the covers? A company called Elite Style.
  22. What was the hardest part of writing Fade To Black? Having to deal with the reality of the story and use real language.
  23. Did you learn anything from writing Fade To Black and what was it? I did. I learned to write the story as you see the story.
  24. Do you have any advice for other writers? Yes, write what’s in your heart no matter what anyone else say’s or thinks!
  25. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Yes, I pray that you enjoy my new novel Fade To Black its real and its relevant!
Leave a Reply

