DJ Gatsby Book Club Interviews: Terrance “Frazier Boy” Frazier Author Of “The Devil’s Dust”

 frazier boy

  1. Where are you from?

I’m from the show-me state. St. Louis Missouri to be exact.

2. Tell us your latest news?

The latest news is that I’m very excited about an up coming book release. The Devil’s Dust. It’s nothing like what the avid readers are use to reading.

 

  1. When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing back in 2004. I can seriously say that I caught the bug. Lol

 

  1. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

It would have to be after I completed my third novel entitled Chasing a Nut. It’s nothing like the gritty hood tales I love to write. Don’t worry, Chasing A Nut is also coming soon.

 frazier 3

  1. What inspired you to write your first book?

Reading books about the life I was once living inspired me to write my first novel. I think it was B-More Careful. Shout out to Shannon Holmes. It was like I was reading parts of my life.

  1. Do you have a specific writing style?

No I don’t. I just come up with the storyline and the rest is history. The book basically writes itself.

 

  1. How did you come up with the title?

I came up with the title because I strongly believe that heroin is the devil’s dust. I’ve met some heroin dealers and addicts who are monsters! Devil’s in the flesh.

 

  1. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

actually I do. For a hot minute heroin has been plaguing my community. It’s like the new epidemic. I just wanted to show its affect and how strong of a hold it has on my city right now.

  1. How much of the book is realistic?

 It’s all fiction. The story shows you how most people who are living that street life don’t communicate. They form an opinion and run with it.

  1. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I would have to say Author Al Sadiqq Banks. He’s my favorite author. With his work there’s a thin line between reality and fiction. Also Eyone Williams. Those two guys are dope writers. Don’t get me wrong it’s a lot of dope writers out there. I just favor their style more.

10338336_817230735018926_6643669890225467723_n
  1. What book are you reading now?

The Devil’s Dust.

  1. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Yeah my business partner Alonzo L. Strange. He has that Tit 4 Tat series out on Amazon. It’s like that! Support the big homie and you guys will see what Thin Line Publishing is bringing to the table. Also Silk White. Dude has a vicious grind plus he’s a great writer.

  1. What are your current projects?

Okay, I got The Devil’s Dust coming June 26. Then I’m gonna drop YBD (Young, Black & Dangerous) a three book series.

 16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members
The readers.
My fans. My team. Thanks a million. Oh, and the haters too.
 17. Do you see writing as a career?
Although it is a career for me, I don’t see it in that light. I see it as more of a therapy. An artistic way of expressing myself and the things I’ve been through in life. Both ups and downs.
 

  1. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

The thing about that is I have this mindset that when I complete a project it’s written and ends exactly how it was destine to. Those were my thoughts at that time, you know, what I was feeling, so I like to keep it that way. If authors were to continuously change their story over and over we’d never finish a project. Lol

   frazier

  1. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Yes I do. It originated back in grade school when I was writing rhymes. I was the type of rapper that told stories in my rhymes.

  1. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I always challenge myself when I write. Also in every book I write there is a dream sequence, where the reader will think an event is happening but it’s actually a dream. Now I’m gonna have the readers trying to figure out what’s real and what’s a dream.

 

  1. Who is your favorite author ?

Besides me my favorite author is Al Sadiqq Banks.

  1. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)?

I love to travel, meet the readers and promote my projects.

FRAZIER 5 

  1. Who designed the covers?

Amb Branding designs my covers. I love the way she puts her heart and soul into her work. Shout out to Amb Aija Monique.

 

  1. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Honestly, I can’t say that anything was hard about writing it. Once I came up with the storyline it actually flowed easily.

  1. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I always learn while writing. In this particular one I learned to manipulate my emotions more with the characters.

 

  1. Do you have any advice for other writers?

Yes I do. Stay focused and dedicated. In the end it pays off.

  1. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes. Thank you for the love and support. Please continue to support Thin Line Publishing where there’s a thin line between reality and fiction.

frazier boy 1
Leave a Reply

