DJGBC Authors Interview : Davian R. Clifton “A Long Road To Redemption”

davian 51. Where are you from?

I was born and raised in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia. Went to high school in Chesapeake, VA.

2. Tell us your latest news?

Well my publishing company, Day Day Publishing, is releasing five projects this year. We are releasing urban fiction, self-help nonfiction, urban romantic comedy, as well as paranormal. We are currently in negotiations with two authors to sign to our publishing company. They have projects in the romance and science fiction genres.

3. When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing my first book, A Long Road to Redemption, in 2010. I had just experienced one of the most traumatic times in my life and was searching for a way to get my mind under control. I was on the verge of an emotional breakdown. For some reason I just grabbed a pen and paper and started writing a story. Writing that story allowed me to escape the realty of the moment and that helped me deal with my situation better.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I first considered myself a writer when I allowed someone to read my story and they responded to it with anger at first. They were upset at the way I ended the story and demanded that I finish it. I felt at that point that if I was able to grasp a person’s emotions from something I wrote then I had a gift.

5. What inspired you to write your first book?

I wanted to tell a story about a man similar to myself going through something similar to my experiences and describe how I wanted him to overcome it.

6. Do you have a specific writing style?

I’m not sure to be honest. I see similarities with some of the authors I follow but I don’t think I have a specific style.

DAVIAN 17. How did you come up with the title?

My first series “A Long Road to Redemption” was titled based upon the struggle of the main character to regain the respect of those he loved.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The message is mainly for the brothers and it is no matter your situation or circumstances you have the capabilities to overcome them and be successful in life. It’s not going to be easy by no means but it will definitely be worth it so always continue to fight toward your goals.

 

9. How much of the book is realistic?

There are a lot of similarities to my life and the lives of people I know but for the most part it is fictional. A lot of people who know me swear that I am the main character but it is just a coincidence.

11. What books have most influenced your life most?

I am a big self-help reader so books such as Think and Grow Rich: A Black Choice, The Secret, All Og Mandino Books, all TD Jakes books. Urban books:  The Coldest Winter Ever, True to the Game, All Eric Jerome Dickey books,  The Cartel series, Carl Weber books. Other genres: James Patterson books and John Grisham books

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Eric Jerome Dickey. I love the way he describes a scene to the point where you not only can picture it but you hear the sounds that come along with that picture.

13. What book are you reading now?

Alex Cross by James Patterson

DAVIAN 214. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Honestly I’ve been reading a lot of submissions for my publishing company and I have run across a few very interesting and promising new authors. I am excited about the potential of working with them. I am not at liberty at this moment though to release their names but you will hear from them really soon.

15. What are your current projects?

I have two urban novels coming out in the next 60 days. “The Real McCoys” which is coming out in February. “Ebenezer: An urban Christmas story” is due to release in March. I am also releasing a book for first-time homebuyers entitled “Come on people let’s get in the game”. This book is design to influence minorities to become homeowners in order to strength their financial foundation. I am also working on a book for men entitled “Its not easy being Abraham: The struggles of being the head of the household”. This book will discuss the struggles one experience trying to handle the responsibilities of being the “man” of the house.

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

I have several friends who really stepped to the plate for me supporting my writing. I am forever indebted to them for their love and support.

17. Do you see writing as a career?

Actually I do see myself as a writer and public speaker on a full-time basis.

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. It’s not perfect by no means but I feel it is how it was supposed to be.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It was something that happened and before I realized it I could not do it. I can’t imagine not writing now.

DAVIAN 321. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

It has always been a challenge for me not to over do it with a character. I sometime spend far too much time describing a particular character.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

James Patterson. I love how he grabs you in the beginning of a book and never let’s you go. He keeps you wanting the next sentence. The next page. The next chapter.

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)?

I didn’t in 2013 but I plan to do a significant amount of travel in 2014.

24. Who designed the covers?

Brittani Williams designed the covers for all three “A long road to redemption” books.  She also did the cover for “The Real McCoys”. Junnita Jackson designed the cover for “Ebenezer”.

davian 625. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

By far the hardest part of writing any book is the editing. I always find myself second guessing myself and want to rewrite whole chapters and sections.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned from writing my first book that I can accomplish something that I had never done before and be successful at it.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers?

If you call yourself a writer then you should be writing everyday no matter what the situation. Find the time each day to write something.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you for the support. I hope to continue to capture your interests with my writing in the future. I love you sincerely.

Click on the link below to purchase books by this author: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_0_6?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=davian%20clifton&sprefix=davian%2Caps%2C229&rh=i%3Aaps%2Ck%3Adavian%20clifton

 

Leave a Reply

