DJGBC Interview: Author Reginald A. Ward “The Church Hoe”

reginald 51. Where are you from? Born and raised on the Westside of Chicago.

2. Tell us your latest news? I just released my much-anticipated novel “The Church Hoe”

3. When and why did you begin writing? I have been writing since I was younger, I finished my first novel in high school actually, my computer crashed and I lost it.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? I think in honors English in high school, My teacher Mrs. Hailey use to make us write all type of essays, even though I didn’t like it then writing was something that came easy to me.

5. What inspired you to write your first book? My first book came out about 3 years ago. Poetry book “Interpret My interpretation” this book was all about helping the youth, changing the world and making people really think. This book has over 52 real poems for real people with real issues.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? I don’t really, but I do try my best to really become the character, you have too to give them a real voice.

church hoe book cover final7. How did you come up with the title? “The Church Hoe” , man it came from things I have seen inside and outside of the church. I struggling with this title almost didn’t release this book.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? Yes, that we all have a pass, that’s a given. It don’t matter if the person is in leadership, never let a person belittle you or make you feel like you are nothing.

9. How much of the book is realistic? Honestly, the situations in this book are 100 percent realistic, everything that happens in this book can and have happened in real life, I made the characters and situations really real.

11. What books have most influenced your life most? “The Coldest Winter” by Sister Soulja  is still the best book I have ever read. I want love to meet her one day. That book I read when I was younger and years later I have never forgotten it. Seeing that I was a poet before novelist, Maya Angelou is my all favorite poet, I actually tried getting in contact with her. Would love to work with her.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Treasure Blue and Michael Conliffe have been so helpful to my writing career. Many times in this process I wanted to give up, and they were right there to keep it real with me and get me right back on track, no asking anything of me.  I also communicate with Omar Tyree from time to time.

13. What book are you reading now? I have so many books to catch up on, currently I’m working on 3 books at once, and if anything I am reading and rereading my own work. (Laughs out loud)

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Racquel Williams and Kristofer Clarke are definitely authors to look out for. I actually met Kris before any other Author. Both of them have so much talent and I am proud of everything they are doing.

15. What are your current projects? “The Church Hoe” and I am about to release my next poetry book “Poetic Perception”

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. Quentin Richardson the basketball player sometimes tweets my books. I feel that’s a good look seeing that I don’t actually know him personally.

17. Do you see writing as a career? I feel it’s a process, you have to work your way up to that level. If, I was signed to Cash Money Content then maybe, but right now I am doing everything under my publishing company and everything is a struggle, so as much as I would like to just sit home and write all day, I have to clock a clock to make money.

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in “The Church Hoe”? I would have planned much better, but I’m thankful though. This is my second book, I know people who still haven’t released their first one, so I’m grateful.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I actually write music as well. It all started there. I know God has blessed me with a true talent for writing, I can write a full song within 2 minutes. I am thankful for my writing gifts. From writing poems, to songs to music, I truly know it’s an gift from God.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Yes, sometimes you have to really keep going back to rewrite certain scenes, making sure everything fits.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Once Again, Sister Soulja‘s “The Coldest Winter” have my number one spot in the writing world. I have read many, many books but that book is just so unforgettable

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)? I am usually in Atlanta or around Chicago promoting my books but I am looking into coming to DC and New York to promote, these are places I have never been.

24. Who designed the cover for “The Church Hoe”? Dynasty CoverMe

25. What was the hardest part of writing “The Church Hoe”? I wrote from my heart, I knew this subject would be touchy and so many people turned their backs on me just because of the cover and them not reading the message. Pastors and Ministers I have known for years erased me when I started promoting this book. I just told the truth.

26. Did you learn anything from writing “The Church Hoe” and what was it? Yes, I learned to never let anyone belittle me. God is my judge not man, they have no heaven or hell to place me in.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Stay true to yourself. Don’t get caught up in the bullshit some authors are on. All cliqued up and purposely working together to down another author.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? The Church Hoe is one of the realest books you will ever read. It’s the truth.com .  It deals with the church and the drama and bullshit inside and outside the church, plus the shit that’s covered up in everyday life

To Purchase “The Church Hoe” Click On This Link ..http://www.amazon.com/The-Church-Hoe-ebook/dp/B00DLX7M1S/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1380900370&sr=1-1&keywords=the+church+hoe

 

Leave a Reply

