DJGBC Interview: Author Lashanta Charles “Lovely Lies”

dsc003421. Where are you from?

I’m from the BIG city of Orangeburg, SC!

2. Tell us your latest news?

Well, my latest news is that I’ll be at the 2013 Essence Music Festival (July 4-8) and will participate in events throughout the festival as well as the Bayou Soul Writers and Readers Conference (July 3), both in New Orleans, LA.

3. When and why did you begin writing?

I’ve maintained journals for as long as I can remember, but I officially wrote my first novel when I was about 15. I used to write “stories” that would never end and pass them around to my classmates. I still have them so when I get nostalgic I go back and read them.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I’m still working on that! I love to write, it keeps me sane (literally), but this will be my first published work, so I look to my readers to make that determination.

5. What inspired you to write your first book?

I told a friend of mine I was going to do it. She said I bet you won’t. I have issues with being challenged J

6. Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think I do. I hope not! I would like to think it’s unique, but as long as it’s enjoyed I’m happy.

lovely lies7. How did you come up with the title?

I actually didn’t. It was originally titled, Through It All, but my publisher said no ma’am and we came up with Lovely Lies.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, never, ever give up. When the odds are stacked against you, keep pushing and fighting.

9. How much of the book is realistic?

100%. Everything that I’ve wrote could realistically happen. We may not understand why it would happen, but it definitely could.

10. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Three names automatically popped into my head; my publisher Tamika Newhouse (obviouslyJ), Shelia Goss, and Vonda Howard. All have shared advice or helped me out in some way, thanks ladies!

11. What book are you reading now?

I’m reading Last of the Amazons by Steven Pressfield; I can read just about anything!

12. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Definitely Kai Leaks, author of Sin Eaters (Devotion). I love all things sci-fi and she nailed it while adding in so many twists, it should really be a movie.

13. What are your current projects?

Currently I’m promoting Lovely Lies, finishing up the sequel, and brainstorming for my third book, which I hope to title Splitting Karma.

14. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My military sisters, Charletta Burke and Sharonda Harris. If they hadn’t pushed me I would have never made an ending and submitted it for publishing (I hate endings).

15. Do you see writing as a career?

No, writing is my hobby. It’s something I want to do forever. Careers eventually end.

lashanta charles book 216. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes! I rewrote it a million times!! If I had more time I’m pretty sure I would have changed it again.

17. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, writing an ending and writing a synopsis…worst things ever.

18. Who designed the covers?

Cover designs come from my publisher, Delphine Publications.

19. Do you have any advice for other writers?

Keep writing and get professional editing. Don’t just upload to Amazon or others just to say you’re published. Take pride in what you put out and take measures to master your craft.

20. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU!!

For more information on Lashanta Charles Visit :http://www.lashantacharles.com & http://delphinepublications.com

delphine publications 1

Leave a Reply

