DJ Gatsby Book Club Interview: Author Patron Gold

patron gold pic

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Brooklyn, New York.

Tell us your latest news.   

Right now, I am promoting the release of “Cut Throats”, and the sequel, “Cut Throats 2”.

When and why did you begin writing?

I was born into a family of singers and musicians, so I actually started out composing R&B lyrics at sixteen. I made the transition to writing street fiction as a challenge to myself; feeling I could do so.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?

After high school, I took a business course. My English teacher use to compliment me on well-written compositions. So, I knew I was on to something.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I was compelled to write a novel because I had experienced and witnessed so many interesting things during my life’s journey and travels.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I don’t think I have a specific writing style, because I am still finding my way. However, I do try to keep my stories realistic.

How did you come up with the title?

I went through a number of titles that got canned before I came up with “Cut Throats”. It fits well with the plot.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The best feedback I get from readers is that they identify with the characters I write about. Hopefully, they will be entertained and enlightened.

How much of the book is realistic?

I would say at least ninety-nine percent of it is realistic. It touches on issues that are current in our society.

What books have most influenced your life most?

That would be, “The Holy Bible”.  I would be completely lost without it.

patron gold 1

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I would have to say, Donald Goines. Growing up, I was captivated by his novels. I still am to this day.

What book are you reading now?

I just finished reading “My America”. It was very good.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Wow! There are so many, I could never name them all! I like, Sa’id Salaam, Tremayne Johnson, Treasure Blue; and, Amira QueenPen, to name a few.

What are your current projects?

I am currently working on an anthology of short stories for my next project.  I decided to do so upon completion of the “Cut Throats” series.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

Do you see writing as a career?

That is what I am shooting for. I didn’t pursue my first love which is music. This is a second chance to fulfill a dream.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. I am very happy with the current version.

Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

As a kid, I envisioned myself being “famous” when I got older. Writing was one of many endeavors, and I was good at it.

Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes. I don’t think I produce enough titles as fast as I would like to. That’s something I’m working on.

patron 1

Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I can’t really say I have a favorite author. I am inspired by those who strive in perfecting their craft. I can tell who’s done their homework when I read.

Do you travel much promoting your book(s)?

I did with my first novel “A House Is a Broken Home”. It’s nice to run into people that enjoyed it, and coax me to continue writing.

Who designed the covers?

My covers were designed by Dynastys CoverMe.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part was opening with an explosive prologue. After that, the book wrote itself.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Yes. I learned that my writing is improving, and I’m a good storyteller.

Do you have any advice for other writers?

Believe in yourself, and have patience. Hard work and discipline will pay off in the end.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank you all for the love and support. I cannot express my gratitude in words!

To purchase books by Author Patron Gold click on this link: http://www.amazon.com/Cut-Throats-Volume-1-ebook/dp/B00BWWMME2/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1365367282&sr=1-1&keywords=patron+gold

Leave a Reply

