DJGBC Interview: Author Kelvin Smith “The Unlikely Candidate”An Amazing Journey of a Heart Transplant Recipient

 

kelvin pic1. Where are you from? Spring Valley, NY.

2. Tell us your latest news? I’m pretty much just getting this message out through my writing. Also, I’m working hard on trying to establish a Boys and Girls Club in Ramapo, NY. Our best investment for the future is our kids.
3. When and why did you begin writing? I actually began in high school as it was suggested by my English teacher however; I ended up going to college for biology.
4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? Again, it was high school. I became adept at writing essays and short stories.
5. What inspired you to write your first book? I got back in the game, so to speak, due to an unforeseen battle with heart disease. I battled for 10 tumultuous years before needing a heart transplant. There are so many people who really don’t understand organ donation and take their health for granted.
6. Do you have a specific writing style? It’s probably considered creative nonfiction with a comedic overtone.
7. How did you come up with the title? The title was an easy one. I’m a health nut who always ate pretty well. I’m a former athlete (Football, baseball). Actually, my entire family are athletes with my brother (Keith Bulluck-Titans/Giants) and son, (Kelvin Jr.-Dolphins/Panthers) being NFL players. As a person who seemed to do everything right, The Unlikely Candidate just seemed to fit.
8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? Absolutely! The message is simple. Don’t take your health for granted and sign up to be an organ donor. Most don’t understand that concept and my book will help educate from a different perspective.
9. How much of the book is realistic? The book is ALL about reality. A stranger had to die in order for me to live. I have a heart from an angel beating inside my body. It’s certainly a rollercoaster of a ride!

kelvin superman11. What books have most influenced your life most? Every Second Counts hands down. It tells about the evolution of transplantation.
12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Shari Maurer- author of Change of Heart.
13. What book are you reading now? Not a Genuine Black Man
14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Brian Copeland, Z Chantell McDonnell.
15. What are your current projects? I always wanted to write an urban literature book loosely based on experiences to help the youth. That’s what I’m tackling now.
16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. The New York Organ Donor Network (NYODN). As a volunteer, they lean on me for many public speaking engagements which helps promote my book.
17. Do you see writing as a career? I do! I love being able to reach the masses with a good message. Plus, sitting by the river and in coffee houses is therapeutic for me!
18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? No sir, it is what it is. I air myself out in order to provide the truth of something dear to me.
19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? I had two teachers. Dr. Bulley, in middle school was a great story teller so I found myself wanting to captivate like he did. I became pretty good at transferring my stories to paper and my English honor’s teacher Mrs. Wheeler suggested I give writing a shot.
kelvin book cover21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Like many other writers, finding the time to complete your work is a big problem. Running a business, providing for the kids amongst other things can sometime interrupt creativity.
22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Maybe I’m a bit biased but I like Shari Maurer. She is a fantastic storyteller! Brian Copeland is good also because he’s a comedian by night. The clown in me draws me to his writing.
23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)? Right now it’s just the NY metropolitan area but that’s all changing as we speak.
24. Who designed the covers? William Lee of differentmindset.com. Very, very good graphic designer.
25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? Again, it was finding the time to complete it. Reliving the tense moments were somewhat emotional as well but comforting after expunging it all.
26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I learned writing the book was fun and exhilarating but shopping the book is for the birds. The literary game can be tough and not for the feeble minded lol.
27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Do your homework and make sure you write for the correct reason. If you’re looking to get rich, good luck with that. Write to inspire, empower, educate or to feel good about writing. But hey, that’s just my opinion.
28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? I want to thank you guys for supporting me on this endeavor. Thank you for being brave enough to want to know about a topic that many may side step.

To Purchase Kelvin Smith’s Book Please Click On the Link Below:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Unlikely-Candidate-Transplant-Recipient/dp/0988252406/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1360878396&sr=8-2&keywords=kelvin+smith

 

Leave a Reply

