DJGBC Authors Interview: Niyah Moore “Bittersweet Exes

niyah moore1. Where are you from?  Sacramento, California

2. Tell us your latest news? The anthology I’m in, Heat of the Night is nominated for two awards for the 2012 African American Literary Award Show for Erotica and Best Anthology.

3. When and why did you begin writing? I began writing in elementary school because it was.fun to make up stories.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? It wasn’t until my sophomore year of high school when a teacher of mine told me what I had was a talent to write.

5. What inspired you to write your first book? My ex husband  inspired Bittersweet Exes.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? My style is romantic mixed with erotica and  drama.

7. How did you come up with the title? I came up with Guilty Pleasures from a rap verse from a Jay-Z song called I Know.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? The message is you never know what you get when you play with fire.

9. How much of the book is realistic? The book is over dramatized and exaggerated for entertainment so I would say less than half.

11. What books have most influenced your life most? Zora Neale Hurston as an author mostly, so all of her work but especially Their Eyes Were Watching God. The romanticism in it captivated me.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Elissa Gabrielle has definitely been a mentor to me.

13. What book are you reading now? I’m currently reading Harlem Reaudux by Persia Walker.

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Stacey L. Moor. He’s so dope.

15. What are your current projects? I’m working on releasing my next two novels Even Better and Major Jazz. I’ll be in Zane presents Chocolate Flava 4 releasing summer of 2013 as well as Pillow Talk Duets In the Heat of the Night by Peace in the Storm Publishing.

bittersweet exes16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family member. Carla Pennington. She’s awesome.

17. Do you see writing as a career? Most definitely

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Nothing at all.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Started with a picture of a Zebra. I was nine.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?Metaphors and being heavy on them. Still mastering that part.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Eric Jerome Dickey is the man! I love his way of telling a story. Everything wrapped into one. I’ve been a fan for years.

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)? Not much. I want to.

24. Who designed the covers? I designed my covers.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? The ending because I never know how it’s going to end.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?I’ve learned that I can write anything I put my mind to.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Don’t give up or compromise yourself to sell books. Stay true to yourself.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Reading is Sexy, so get your read on.

Thanks

You can find more information on Niyah at http://www.niyahmoore.com and http://www.peaceinthestormpublishing.com

 

Leave a Reply

