DJGBC Interview: Author Nicety Couture- Back 2 Business, Perfect Storm, Killing Me Softly

 

nicety1. Where are you from? I was born and raised on the South Side of Chicago, IL.

2. Tell us your latest news? Well, I am currently working on dropping 12 books this year one of which is the sequel to Candy Shop titled Back 2 Business.

3. When and why did you begin writing? I began writing in the 3rd grade. I have been told al of my life that I had a niche for writing and this is my calling. I didn’t believe it until I got to college and a professor woke me up. He said if I didn’t pursue this that I was missing my calling. I certainly didn’t want to do that.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? I first consider myself a writer when I completed my first manuscript and realized I had the discipline to finish a full-length novel.

5. What inspired you to write your first book? My first novel came to me in a dream. I awoke in the middle of the night and wrote down all of the details and first thing that morning I got to work without stopping.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? I write what I feel. I try not to label or mimic styles because I feel that’s what makes me unique.

back 2 business7. How did you come up with the title? I came up with the title to Back 2 Business just by the way that Candy Shop ended. I didn’t want to label the book traditionally by naming it, Candy Shop 2. It seemed too corny.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? The message in my novels lies solely on the reader. Whatever message, be it positive or negative, I leave for the reader to grasp.

9. How much of the book is realistic? I’d say about 30% of all of my books are based on actual events. Some of the events happened to me and others from people around me.

11. What books have most influenced your life most? Most of the earlier books written my Sistah Soulja, Donald Goines, and Terri Woods helped influence what genre I wanted to write in.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? If I had to choose, I guess I would choose Stephen King. I like his writing process, how he locks himself away on critical days to get his mojo going. Love that!

13. What book are you reading now? Right now, I am in between books but I am  going back and forth reading The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle.

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Yes, Gabriele Dotson, Leondra Lerae, Janelle Moore and there are so many more.

nicety killing15. What are your current projects? Currently I am working on Back 2 Business due out in mid February and a short erotica due out in mid March. My goal is to drop at least one book a month this year.

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. I would have to say my street team. Team Nicety has gone above and beyond the call of duty for me and I couldn’t be more proud of their love and support!

17. Do you see writing as a career? I most definitely see it as my long-term career! They say do what you love and I absolutely love this!

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Nope. My latest book is Killing Me Softly and I have to admit that I poured blood sweat and tears into that joint.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? My interest in writing when I was a child sparked from my love of reading and wanting to write books of my own.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? I often find it hard to write details of rape scenes because it hits home hard.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Stephen King paints a picture of horror that is unmistakable and indescribable. When I first began reading him I never thought his work would actually have me spooked.

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)? No I don’t but that will soon change.

24. Who designed the covers? I actually design all of my covers. I also design covers for a few other authors as well.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? I think the hardest part of writing Back 2 Business is getting my focus time in so I can complete word count everyday.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I learned that the more I write the better I get and the fact that sometimes I feel my characters as if I am them.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Write. Keep writing then erase and write some more. Never give up on your dream no matter all the negativity in your ear. There are snakes out there. You’re going to need a stiff anti-venom for their bites.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? I love and adore all of you! Thank you for supporting and loving me back!  Nicety

perfect 2

One thought on “DJGBC Interview: Author Nicety Couture- Back 2 Business, Perfect Storm, Killing Me Softly

  1. I am extremely inspired along with your writing skills as well as with the structure to your blog.
    Is this a paid subject matter or did you modify it yourself?
    Either way stay up the excellent high quality writing, it’s
    rare to see a nice blog like this one these days..

    Like

Leave a Reply

