DJGBC Interviews: Author Kennedee Devoe “Two Wrongs Don’t Make A Right”

kennedee pro pic 11. Where are you from? Carson, CA, but I currently reside in California.

2. Tell us your latest news? I’m currently promoting my latest book Two Wrongs Don’t Make a Right…It Makes Us Even. I’m also writing my new book set for release summer 2013.  

3. When and why did you begin writing? I started writing poetry in high school. I also was the editor for my high school newspaper. I initially wanted to become a journalist, but I ended up in the Human Services field for the last 13 years.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? I’ve thought of myself as a writer ever since high school. In some ways, I was more a writer back then, than I am now. 

5. What inspired you to write your first book? My real life dating experiences have been horrific over the last 15-20 years. I knew that a lot of people could relate to one or more of my experiences. 

6. Do you have a specific writing style? I write like how I talk. So when you read the book you feel as though you’re having a conversation with me.

7. How did you come up with the title? The title was how I was living life at the time. I was going to treat you like you treat me. 

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? Two Wrongs Don’t Make a Right…It Makes Us Even has many messages that readers can take away with them. The message is in the book to never to allow anyone to mistreat you, disrespect you, use you or abuse. It’s about being a survivor of a few bad relationships. It’s about relationships don’ts. It’s about knowing your worth and knowing when to move on.

9. How much of the book is realistic? Unfortunately, all of this is true. However I’m thankful for the bad that was in my life because a lot of good came from the bad including this book.

11. What books have most influenced your life most? Honestly, I can’t say there have been any books that have influenced my life. My influence has being my family. I have some good examples in my life.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? I bumped into Hasani Petiford at the 2012 Black Book Expo in Los Angeles. He has been mentoring me ever since. 

13. What book are you reading now? Loves New Manager by Keyon Polite. I can’t tell you exactly what it’s about because I just downloaded it yesterday. 

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Vanna B. She’s on her way to becoming a great author. 

15. What are your current projects? Currently writing about my friendships I’ve acquired over the years the last 25 years. 

kennedee book cover16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. Book clubs on Facebook. As a new author it’s hard to break into the literacy game because readers have their favorites. I’m grateful to the Book clubs who have been willing to take a chance on me. 

17. Do you see writing as a career? I do. It’s something that I wanted to do previously when I was much younger, but was discouraged by some bad advice. 

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? I wouldn’t change anything. The story is honest, and true. I stripped my soul naked to share my experiences with the public. I will be judged on my past and my actions, but it will come along with the territory. I’m just hoping that readers can take away what the true message is in the book without being blinded by my actions. 

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? In the late 80’s or early 90’s when I was in high school. I was shy sometimes when it came to the boys. But I could write some good letters to let them know how I felt. The letters turned into me writing poetry, and the poetry peaked my interest in writing more for the school newspaper. 

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Not really. The most challenging thing I find to do is write. I still work a 9 to 5. So I’m usually tired when I get home so I have to find a way to motivate myself. 

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  Terry McMillian. I absolutely love her work. She is an inspiration to me that one day my book will become a big screen hit. 

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)? I haven’t traveled much in 2012, but I have a few things set for 2013 that I’m excited to be a part of. 

24. Who designed the covers? Donna Osborn Clark of Creations by Donna

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? I want to make sure I give the full story, but sometimes I wonder if I gave too much personal information. 

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? Timing is everything. You can’t rush perfection. 

27. Do you have any advice for other writers? You have to know how to promote a book, and how to prioritize the numerous tasks involved in book promotion. Make sure to have a good marketing plan that gives you a blueprint that will assist you in promoting your book.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Two Wrongs Don’t Make a Right…It Makes Us Even is a good book. I’m not just saying that because I wrote it. Check out the reviews to see what other readers are saying about the book. Thanks to my new supporters for reading it, and thanks to my future readers for taking a chance on me. 

kennedee pro pic 2

Contact Info

Website

Facebook http://facebook.com/KennedeeDevoe
Leave a Reply

