DJGBC Interview: Author I Am Obsession “Climatic Successions” & “Catch 22”

iam obsession pro pic1. Where are you from?  L-Town on the west side of Chicago

2. Tell us your latest news? The sequel to my first book “Climatic Successions” just dropped on October 19th.  It’s called, “Catch 22: Love’s paradox” and it has received 5 star reviews already!

3. When and why did you begin writing? I started writing poetry when I was 7 years old. My second grade teacher asked us to write a poem. My poem was called, “To whom it may concern” about a dog trying to find his way home.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? My grandmother told me after reading that poem that I was going to be a writer and I believed her.

5. What inspired you to write your first book? I had a friend that would tell me all the time that I could write a book. I always denied it until she finally convinced me to at least try. I’m glad that I did. Thanks Rachel! By the way, Rachel is an awesome author. Check out her books “Consequences” and “Repercussions” you won’t be disappointed!

6. Do you have a specific writing style? My poetry and novels are both the same. Fast paced, in your face, raw, drama filled and soul rattling.

7. How did you come up with the title? My book is full of drama. There are WTF? Moments all through it. Climatic Successions basically means that you get intense moments back to back, like none stop. There’s drama in every single chapter.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? I want my readers to learn how to forgive and forget like I had to learn to. I lived a hard knocked life, so I’m still in the process of healing. A lot of people have no idea how forgiving someone or everyone who’s ever mistreated you, can bring you so much peace. I mean you’re walking around looking like you’re sucking on lemons because you’re pissed off about things in the past. Just let go and let God!

iam obsession book cover9. How much of the book is realistic? Well one character in Climatic Successions is real because she’s me. She’s beautiful, a teacher, single, funny, feisty, outspoken, and a child abuse survivor.

11. What books have most influenced your life most? Any book by Kay Hooper. Her writings awaken my imagination and never allows it to doze back off.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Kay Hooper of course! She is a beast with the pen. Her novels are very entertaining and worth every penny!

13. What book are you reading now? “Dicmatized” By Dyphia & “Beautifully Imperfect” By Phoenix C. Brown

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Yes and her name is B. Grovner. Her book “Cold Serial” is off the chain!

15. What are your current projects? I’m putting the finishing touches on my third poetry book, “Memory Box: a replay of the mind and I’m writing a new novel called, “Before I lay me down to sleep”

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. I get a lot of love on facebook by people who have and have not read my book. I’m truly blessed.

17. Do you see writing as a career? *Bopping my head* yes, yes I do, like I said, granny said that I would be a writer and she was right. This is my calling. If I don’t write I’ll get lost. I use my writing to help me navigate and tolerate this crazy world that we live in.

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Yes, I would‘ve made it longer. A few readers said that they absolutely loved my book it was just too short.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? All it took was for me to write that one poem in second grade and I’ve been obsessed writing ever since.

catch 2221. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? My patience. I have below zero tolerance. So I’m all over the place emotionally when I write, I’m extremely up tight until the book is complete.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? Kay Hooper. She knows how to capture readers and keep them.

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)? Not yet, but by the grace of God I will be soon. Very soon.

24. Who designed the covers? Her name is Kellece Coleman. She’s a bad girl! She’s done covers for both of my books. Everyone loves her work.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? The hardest part was writing through tragic events. My laptop crashed after writing only one paragraph, my apartment flooded, then I miscarried at 5 months, it was a boy.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I learned that I was more than a poetess, I was now a novelist and a damn good one!

27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Grind or get the hell on. It’s rough out here in these literary streets. If you’re not going to put your best foot forward and make major sacrifices for the love of the craft, than writing books isn’t for you.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? I want my readers to know that I truly no doubt appreciate them from the bottom, top, both sides and the middle of my heart. If it wasn’t for you, my dreams would be just that… a dream.

iam collage

One thought on “DJGBC Interview: Author I Am Obsession “Climatic Successions” & “Catch 22”

Leave a Reply

