DJGBC Interview: Author Justin Amen Floyd “Anything For Profit – 2”

  1. Where are you from?

I’m originally from Greenville, South Carolina, but currently reside in Brooklyn, N.Y.

  1. Tell us your latest news?

At the Harlem Book Fair I released my second full length novel: “Anything for Profit”2, which has been getting great reviews and feedback from the readers. More importantly, I just became a registered voter and for the first time in my life I will be participating in the election process this November.

  1. When and why did you begin writing?

I began writing poetry when I was 15. Incarcerated in a juvenile institution, one of the counselors (thanks Ms. Cusaac) used to bring me a large variety of books by black authors I had previously never knew existed. It was then that I knew I wanted to express my pain and struggle through words.

  1. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I considered myself a writer from the moment I penned my first poem. I didn’t consider myself an AUTHOR though, until I sold my first book.

  1. What inspired you to write your first book?

I was inspired to write my first book after I kept reading the same street stories being told over and over with just different titles. At first I was intrigued by the urban genre. I felt like it was giving a voice to people who lived the life that I had led. Over time it became to be so fantastical and unrealistic that I found myself picking apart those very same books. Eventually, my comrades who were locked down with me, challenged me to write something better. So I did.

  1. Do you have a specific writing style?

Yes, I have a specific writing style: authentic and from the heart!

  1. How did you come up with the title?

I’m from the south and at the time I was writing my book (in solitary confinement) there was a popular song that used to play on the radio called “Boyz n the Hood.” The beginning of the hook says “Dem boys in the hood sell anything for profit…” I knew so many brothers (including myself) who were in the streets or behind the fence willing to do “Anything for Profit” so the title seemed fitting, given the fact that it was our life experiences I was writing about.

  1. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is an old African proverb that says “It takes a village to raise a child.” Well, the message in “AFP”1&2 is that when that village has been decimated by drugs and violence and the children are forced to raise themselves… this is what you get. America take a look at your children.

  1. How much of the book is realistic?

Every page of “AFP”1&2 deals with the reality I saw growing up. Some situations were embellished but for the most part either I lived it, saw it, or felt it in some way, shape form or fashion.

  1. What books have most influenced your life most?

The classics: Roots (Alex Haley), The Autobiography of Malcolm X (Alex Haley and Malcolm X), The Invisible Man (Ralph Ellison), Coldest Winter Ever (Sister Soulja), Monster (Sanyika Shakur), Native Son (Richard Wright), Manchild in the Promised Land (Claude Brown), Pimp (Iceberg Slim); and many more.

  1. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Caroline McGill. I soaked up a lot of the book game from her during conversations or just by watching how she did certain things business wise. I’ve never told her but she’s definitely a mentor.

  1. What book are you reading now?

I don’t read books as much as I study them, Right now I’m currently studying Napoleon Hill’s “Think and Grow Rich,” and striving to adopt the principles of wealth that are in the book into my daily life (it’s not easy though! LOL).

  1. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are a lot of new authors who are making noise. I salute all of them but I honestly haven’t had the time to read any of their work to mention any names based upon content.

  1. What are your current projects?

I am currently working on a collection of erotic short stories entitled “For Freaks Only.” It’s going to be really sensual and explicit as well. Also I’m working on the soundtrack to my novels “AFP” 1&2. So be on the look-out for something for the sheets as well as music for the streets.

  1. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

GOD!

  1. Do you see writing as a career?

I see writing as a passion and a blessing from God to touch other people’s lives with my words.

  1. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I wouldn’t change anything. I gave “AFP”2 everything I had and I think it shows in the end. It’s so much more than just another “street story.” It’s real life.

  1. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It originated first with my love of reading.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The whole process is a challenge. I want to make everything I write better than the last so I’m constantly challenging myself to become better.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have many favorite authors and in many different genre’s. Mario Puzo, Alex Haley, Iceberg Slim, Stephen King, Sister Soulja… All are phenomenal story tellers that keep you entertained but make you FEEL something once you’ve finished reading one of their novels.

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)?

When I’m not writing I try to set up book signings in different cities in order to get out there and get that positive energy back from the readers. I love meeting the people. Especially in today’s day and age where everybody interacts over the computer.

24. Who designed the covers?

Davida Baldwin did the first three and Tanisha Mahogani Pettiford did my latest.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Just making time to write it. My schedule is crazy.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I have the ability to be a great author. It also brought back a lot of memories.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers?

Be passionate about what you do and stay in your lane. Don’t worry about how many books so and so put out and sold. Keep doing what YOU do to the best of your ability because nobody can stop you but you. Be a trendsetter and think outside the box.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thank- you. I sincerely appreciate all of your support and love. Y’all keep me motivated to write. Without you there is no me.  So keep supporting and I promise to keep putting out dope material. Also I ask that you spread the word and leave reviews for my work. Peace & Love

To Purchase Books By Author Justin Amen Floyd Click On The Link Below…

http://www.amazon.com/Justin-Amen-Floyd/e/B003WCK60M/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1349897905&sr=1-2-ent

Leave a Reply

