DJGBC Interview: Author Michael McGrew “Room 111”

1.Where are you from? Los Angeles
2. Tell us your latest news? Well it’s funny you ask! Recently I just released a video about an incident that took place in Atlanta with a fraudulent expo that went viral. I didn’t expect for it to spread in the urban literary community so fast but such news needs to reported because authors work too hard to be taken advantage of. Hopefully it taught a valuable lesson to those who have or intend on misrepresenting or conning authors out of their money
3. When and why did you begin writing? I began writing professionally in 2008 and since then have penned six novels, worked as a story editor for a an independent production, written numerous reality show treatments and scripts.
4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? I considered myself a writer after selling my first book in 2008. It was real then and have been addicted to that feeling ever since.
5. What inspired you to write your first book? I read an urban fiction book and it was so horrible I wanted to contribute the the genre at the time. It was one of those “If they can do it I can” type of moments.
6. Do you have a specific writing style? I was really into first person narratives but I’m always improving my technique. I believe when you define yourself, you confine yourself and always looking to better my craft.
7. How did you come up with the title? Well all my titles sum up the story and titles are something I never rush. I have an arsenal of titles in my database and build the stories around them. I think as authors we conform to our own technique and mine works just fine.
8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? My current novel, alongside Kiesah Hakeem educates anyone who has an interest in music on the behind the scene politics and shear under handiness of the industry. It’s based on actual events and definitely a must have for your collection.
9. How much of the book is realistic? 65%
11. What books have most influenced your life most? The Greatest Salesman by Og Mandino, Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki, Unlimited Power by Anthony Robbins and The Giving Tree by Sam Silverstein
12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? Alex Haley and Dick Gregory
13. What book are you reading now? The complete guide to book marketing by David Cole
14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? I can’t say that there are but I know they exist.
15. What are your current projects? In the winter of 2013 I will be attempting to break a Guinness World Record for the biggest book signing.
16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. There are plenty and my readers have been so good to me.
17. Do you see writing as a career? It has been since 2008 when I put my two weeks notice in after my book arrived from the printer. A job is what you’re paid for but your calling is what you’re made for!
18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? Not at all.
19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? It’s always been in me and can be attributed to my mom and grandmother. That combined with my imagination further proves to me that we are all in tune with our talent. Some of us lose it along the way but the others embrace it with the challenge and make it do what it do.
21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? In fact I do, when people break your concentration when I’m in the zone and think I’m a nut when my cup of tea flys across the room haha. Writing drains energy and one must literally zone out in order to produce great material and it’s irritating when someone breaks your concentration to ask you if you’ve seen their car keys!
22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)? I travel all the time, it’s apart of my job and love every minute of it
24. Who designed the covers? Davida Baldwin
25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? Honestly there was no difficulty in writing Room 111, it flowed very smooth and I completed it in two months.
26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I learned a lot about the mechanics of the music industry, most is jaw dropping and unforeseen but nevertheless a business and not always about the music
27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Passion, business, resources, drive, motivation, a budget, tough skin and a marketable product will take you a long way. As a beginner you will take a few losses but don’t be discourage because your experience will determine your longevity in this industry.
28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? You can follow
Michael McGrew
Legacy Publishing Group
Authors are the NEW ROCKSTARS
Download your copy of “Room 111” Now!! http://tinyurl.com/6nlbjrh
“Successful completion is the law of my life and everything I do is successfully completed”
Leave a Reply

