DJGBC Interview: Marie Norfleet “This Game Called Life”

1. Where are you from?

Response: I was born in the Bronx, New York and raised in Manhattan,on the upper eastside.

2. Tell us your latest news?

Response: I recently became one of Gstreet Chronicles authors and I just re-released my debut novel This Game Called Life.

3. When and why did you begin writing?

Response: I first began writing in a journal, like most young girls. Writing was an outlet for me, an escape from the reality of life. I continued writing until I was in the seventh grade, where I begin to ink my first story. I didnt get very far though, I made it to chapter three and stopped. Over the last few years, I’ve been through, I’ve seen, I’ve heard and done things that has given me the experiences necessary to tell my stories. Thus refueling my passion for writing.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

Response: I don’t think I ever have or will consider myself a writer, but more so a storyteller.

5. What inspired you to write your first book?

Response: It may sound cliche but life inspired me to write. Life and its cruelty.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? Response: No I don’t have a specific writing style. I consider myself to be a freestyle storyteller. My stories develop as I write, I never have a set idea for my stories when I begin my writing process.

7. How did you come up with the title? Response: I wrote my synopsis first then after reading over it, I decided that whatever I’d write about would be about life and how it’s often perceived as a game.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Response: In my novel, I touch on some sensitive matters such as child abuse, domestic violence, teenage pregnancy, infidelity etc… When I wrote this novel, I intended to open people’s eyes to serious issues that are sometimes “swept under the rug or turned a blind eye” towards. By making people aware of these tragic situations, I hoped to shed light on the possible life that an abused child could live, if the situation wasn’t handled or addressed properly.

9. How much of the book is realistic? Response: 50% Of the novel is based on some aspect of my life.

11. What books have most influenced your life most?

Response: I don’t read often, the reality of life influenced me.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Response: I respect all the veterans of the literature world because they paved the way, but as far as mentors, I came into this literature world blind. For a long time, I maneuvered on my own until George Sherman Hudson, CEO of GSTREET Chronicles and the lovely Shawna A. Grundy VP, took a liking in my work. Since that blessed day, I’ve been groomed by Mr. Hudson and Ms. Grundy to be the best writer I can be.

13. What book are you reading now?¬†Response: Stud by Sa’id Salaam

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Response: Author Blaque because her writing style and mine are eerily similar; different but similar.

15. What are your current projects?

Response: I’m currently working on two novels: This Game Called Life 2: Vengeance and When a Woman’s Fed Up; A Scorned Heart Knows No Limit. Also a short story series: Looking For Love In All The Wrong Places.

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Response: My publishing family: Gstreet Chronicles

17. Do you see writing as a career?

Response: I will write for as long as people want to read my work.

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Response: No, I think I told the story the way I wanted and got the message across that I intended.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

Response: I needed an escape and writing became my outlet.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Response: It depends on what I’m writing. I like to use my life experiences as reference for my stories.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Response: I dont have a favorite author. I like all genres, so it’s hard to select just one author.

23. Do you travel much promoting your book(s)?

Response: My novel is a new release so I haven’t done much traveling yet, but I plan on conducting a ten city book tour in the near future.

24. Who designed the covers?

Response: Keith Saunders at Marion designs, designed my first two covers.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Response: The abuse scenes took alot out of me emotionally and mentally. I wanted to give enough detail so that my readers could visualize the scenes, feel the raw emotions that my character felt and connect mentally with the character.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Response: I learned how strong of an individual I am.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers?

Response: Stay true to your craft; don’t let anyone or anything deter you from your destiny.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Response: I’d like to thank my supporters for taking this journey with me, for supporting my work, and encouraging me to continue living out my dream.

To Purchase Books By This Authoer Click On The Link Below:

http://www.amazon.com/This-Game-Called-Life-ebook/dp/B009268S84/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1347463488&sr=1-1

2 thoughts on “DJGBC Interview: Marie Norfleet “This Game Called Life”

Leave a Reply

