DJGBC Interview: Author Frazier Boy “The Hustle”

1.Where are you from? I’m from St. Louis Missouri, also known as the show-me state.

2. Tell us your latest news? My latest news is that I was recently released from federal prison after serving a 10 year sentence. Since I’ve been home, I’ve been grinding extra hard trying to establish myself as an author in my city.

3. When and why did you begin writing? I began writing in 2004. After reading countless novels in prison, I was inspired to pick up a pen and tell my story.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? The moment I began writing rhymes in junior high, I considered myself as a writer. My style of writing was different, because I was a story teller rapper.

5. What inspired you to write your first book? My true inspiration came after I finished reading a book titled, “True To the Game,” by Teri Woods.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? No, I don’t have a specific writing style. I just catch the vibe and I’m all in. But I will say that I prefer writing my rough drafts on paper first. It may sound strange but to me it just feels as if the story comes out better when I write it out on paper first.

7. How did you come up with the title? The initial title was “Addicted to the Hustle,” but my publisher and I both agreed that we should shorten it to The Hustle because the shorter title spoke volume. But part 2 is titled “Addicted 2 the Hustle.” It’s definitely classic material.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? Yes there is a message in my novel, or should I say novels. Each and every one of them possesses messages for the readers. The message is that it’s very important to make the right decisions in life. The wrong decisions could ultimately cause you everything, including your life.  If you have goals, stay focus and obtain them. Don’t let anything stray you away from them.

9. How much of the book is realistic? I would have to say about 70% is realistic.

10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life? I write about experiences of my own and others around me.

11. What book has most influenced your life most? I would have to say Nathan McCall’s, Makes Me Wanna Holler.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? I feel that all African American writers have mentored and influenced me in one way or another.

13. What book are you reading now? The book I’m reading now is titled, To Conquer and Keep a Good Man.” buy an author name Enigma. It’s a must read for all women.

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? There’s a few, like for instance Eyone Williams. Dude is very, very talented, and of course Dutch also known as Kwame Teague, but neither are considered new.

15. What are your current projects? My current projects are, Addicted 2 the Hustle, Chasing a Nut, Left Without A Choice, and Hard in the Paint. That’s just naming a few. I’ve been hard at work as you can see.

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.My extended family at DC Bookdiva Publications.

17. Do you see writing as a career? Writing isn’t just my career, it’s my life now. I eat, sleep and breathe writing.

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?Any good writer progresses in his/her career, so of course I’d do some things differently, because I’m a better writer now. But I’m a strong believer that everything that happens is meant to happen the way that it does, so the end result of the story is the way it was meant to be written.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Yes, from sitting in my cell reading everyone else’s stories. I felt that I too had a story to tell.

20. Can you share a little of your current work with us? Yes I could but I don’t want to spoil it for you guys.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? Yes, I do. I find it extremely challenging to step out of my comfort zone, which is urban street writing, and write about something totally different. I’ve done it with a few projects and I would have to say that I was very, very impressed with the end results. It let me know that I don’t have to be stuck in one genre.

22. Who are your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work? I would have to say Al Sadiq Banks. Dude is one hell of a writer! I would be honored to meet him one day.

23. Do you to travel much promoting your book(s)? I would love to but unfortunately my current circumstances won’t allow me to at this time. But I will soon be hitting the road promoting my bodies of work proudly.  

24. What was the hardest part of writing your book? Making sure that it’s a page turner through and through. I don’t want to start off explosive and have a dud in the middle of the book. It has to be like that all the way through!

25. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? Yes, I’ve learned that practice makes perfect. That if I really want to perfect my craft I have to stay exercising it rigorously.

26. Do you have any advice for other writers? Yes, this game is a lot like every other industry. You have to hustle hard. You get out of it what you put into it. Don’t expect to become an overnight success. It doesn’t always happen like that.

27. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? Thank you for your support and I promise you all that every story gets better.

In Stores and Available on E-Readers Now! Up The Way, Ben Dynasty, Dutch- Nominated for Best Street Fiction of the Year 2010- African American Literary Award Dynasty 2, Dutch
Trina, Darrell Debrew
A Killer’z Ambition, Nathan Welch
Lorton Legends, Eyone Williams
A Beautiful Satan, RJ Champ
The Hustle, Frazier Boy
Secrets Never Die, Eyone Williams- 2012 Male Author of The Year- AAMBC Award
Available Now from our Urban E-reads series! Available on The Nook and Kindle.
The Cross, Eyone Williams
Hazel Eyes, Pinky Dior
Stella, DC Bookdiva
Coming Soon!
Que, Dutch
A Hustler’s Daughter, Pinky Dior
Leave a Reply

