DJGBC Interview: Vanessa Richardson Bagby – “Shattered In A Split Second”

1. Where are you from?
I was born and raised in Mount Vernon New York

2. Tell us your latest news?
I have a speaking engagement at one of our local churches from August 6  – 9th.

In Nyack, New York.  In addition I plan to promote my book at the Circle of Sisters Expo from October 6  – 7; 2012.

3. When and why did you begin writing?
I begin writing after my son’s almost fatal accident. He was hit and thrown 

    over 200 feet into a ravine off the thruway; he was on his motorcycle.

    However, “Shattered in a Split Second” was written to glorify God for His  

    never ending grace and mercy. Also too perhaps encourage those who are  

    in a crisis situation and/or have experienced a life altering change due too

    a tragedy with hope that my book will inspire my readers and strengthen

    their faith.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

    I don’t consider myself a writer.  I consider myself a passionate

    woman that like to reach out to those in need of an encouraging and

    inspirational word.
5. What inspired you to write your first book? The miracles of God and the heroics

    of my son.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? Eloquent!
7. How did you come up with the title? Easy, everything happened in a split

    second of time; it shattered our lives.
8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?
Yes, that God is true to His word… That He will never leave or forsake you. 

    That belief and faith work hand and hand; and faith comes by hearing the

    word of God. And too always remember that God work in His time, not

    ours.

9. How much of the book is realistic?

The entire book is based on a true-account
10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes, my son, the accident victim. However, the book is based on many

     other facets and challenges of life, such as; Marriage, family, friendship,

     abuse, sibling challenges, faith, strength, life death.  It’s exciting, nerve-

     wrecking, heart-throbbing, mysterious, loving and much more.
11. What books have most influenced your life most?

The Bible… It’s my foundation; keeps me grounded.
12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I say God wrote the book; I just did the typing; God is my mentor.

      See, I’m a very private person; I don’t get much mentoring because I     

      don’t talk about my problems; I deal with them and seek God for

 

      guidance. I have some awesome friends…but I don’t see them often   

      enough to seek their advice.  People are busy, busy, busy, and I

      understand that because I’m a very busy person as well. 

     

13. What book are you reading now?

None; I’m working on my sequel to Shattered in a Split Second
14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I did meet a few new authors at the Harlem Book. I would say that

      Janet Thomas inspired me the most. She has a great spirit.
15. What are your current projects?

I’m working on the sequel to Shattered. My nephew and I, an author as

      well is about to team up and work on our family memoir.
16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Outside of family members; I will have to say the Lord up above.
17. Do you see writing as a career?

I’m not sure… I’m an educator as well.
18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Absolutely nothing… I made so many changes while re-editing.  If I left

     anything out, it will be in the sequel.
19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My only interest was to share an amazing true-account of the will to stand

     Tall amidst life’s trying moments.
20. Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Shattered in a Split Second is incomplete. However, it leaves you with an

       ache to find out what happen with Atiba.  I’m currently working on the

       answers in the sequel.  Actually, the sequel explains the effect the

       accident had on my entire immediate family.  There is more family

       saga in the sequel lol.
21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, I’m a perfectionist and that poses a problem for me.  I tend to re-

       read and make changes consistently trying for perfection when I clearly

      understand that perfection doesn’t exist.
22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?
23. Do you to travel much promoting your book(s)?

      My book just launched January 2012. I’ve had 4 successful book  

      signings and a few speaking engagements. Traveling is on the horizon.

24. Who designed the covers?

      My self-publishing company; however, my idea.
25. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Although writing helped me therapeutically, it was hard for me to write

      the account.  Many times I cried and walked away from my writing.  I  

      relived the entire ordeal all over again and that at times was  

      difficult.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

      Yes, Forrest Gumps quote “Life is like a box of chocolates, never know

      what your gonna get.”
27. Do you have any advice for other writers?

      Dedication, perseverance and patience is the key; you can’t fail.
28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Yes, a quote by Langston Hughes; “Hold fast to dream for if dreams die…

       Life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.

To Find Out More About This Author Visit Her Website:  www.shatteredinasplitsecond.com

4 thoughts on “DJGBC Interview: Vanessa Richardson Bagby – “Shattered In A Split Second”

  1. Pingback: cheap9cblog

  2. Pingback: hotblogce1

  3. Pingback: kingmaxlnlv

  4. Pingback: 1mashengl8r

Leave a Reply

