DJGBC Interview: Author Derrick Harper “One Of Us: A Story Of Gods Favor”

                     

1. Where are you from?

I am from southeastern VA. Hampton, Va. Born in Portsmouth, VA

2. Tell us your latest news?

Right now I’m working on my second book.  “why we do what we do: answers to women’s frequent asked questions about men”. The book “one of us” has been out for a little over a month and has over 1,500 copies in the hands of readers from the USA to the UK.

3. When and why did you  begin writing?

I actually began writing in the summer of 2011. One of my colluegues Gene Thornton (aka malice of the clipse pka no malice author of wretched pitiful poor blind and naked) wrote a book.  He helped me through the process of putting  our mutual friend latony Crumble’s book (just wasn’t my time) out.  These two guys inspired me to pull the love for writing out of the depths of my heart. 

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I guess I still don’t consider myself a writer.  It is weird. I have a book published and it’s doing well but it is not a New York Times best seller.  I guess once one of my books reaches that status then I’ll consider myself a writer.  I feel I have to put in more work to become a “writer”.  

5. What  inspired you to One Of Us: A Story Of Gods Favor?

God.  I sat down to try to be like someone else.  I was writing about a mythical place.  After a few sentences I stopped.  Then I wanted to address this 2012 prophecy. As I began writing GOD took over and I wrote essentially a chapter a day after prayer and breakfast.

6. Do  you have a specific writing style?

I don’t have a particular writing style. I actually am writing across genres.

7. How did you come up with the title?

I have always thought about the song what if god was one of us. Then I thought,What if he was? What if he was here on earth and he could guide us and give us specific instruction.  Then I came up with the story. However, that was my thought process behind the name.

8. Is  there a message in Gods Favor that you want  readers to grasp?

Yes there is a message. Go buy it and read it then e-mail me what you think it is. And I will tell you if you are right or not.  Ha ha. It has to deal with obedience.

9. How much of the book is realistic?

I would say about 90% of the book is realistic in regards to the scenario of people not obeying God. However, the story is made up and of course no man has seen GOD.

10. Are experiences based  on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Tide book is loosely based on my experiences. It is similar in some ways to what I experienced in 2011. 

11. What books have most  influenced your life most?

Wretched, Pitiful, Poor, Blind, and Naked by Gene Thornton. And Just Wasn’t My Time by Latony Crumble

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you  consider a mentor?
Of course Maya Angelou. She is inspiring and she has a direct link to Oprah. Ha ha.

                      13. What book are you reading now?

You know I have purchased a few books from authors on Facebook. I haven’t had the chance to sit down and read but I promise I will.  I am in Grad school so technically I’ve been reading exceptional children by Heward. Ha ha

14. Are there any new  authors that have grasped your interest?

Not really. I haven’t had the chance to read the new authors books yet.

15. What are your current  projects?

My Current project is called “why we do what we do: answers to FAQ’s by women about men. The title is self explanatory.

17. Do you see writing as a career?

I do.  I think as long as I never quit it will happen for me one day. 

18. If you had to do it all over  again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No. Like I said GOD took over and it was him that helped me. 

19. Do you recall how your  interest in writing originated?

It was always deep inside me. I remember my second grade teachers being really impressed with a story I wrote and they asked me if I wanted to be a writer because I wrote so well.  I said no. I hate writing and I also hate reading. I still am not a huge fan of reading. However, I do read from time to time. 

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your  writing?
Remembering all of the grammar rules.  English is the hardest most confusing language in the world.
22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you  about their work?
I don’t really have one.
23. Do you to travel  much promoting your book(s)?
I haven’t started traveling yet but the summer of 2012 will be a huge traveling summer. So it is coming.
24. Who designed the covers?
I did. I do many things. 
25. What was the  hardest part of writing your book?
Finishing it up.  I wanted to keep going. However, god told me to end it.
26. Did you learn anything from writing your  book and what was it?
Just rembering that GOD is with me and he knows what’s best.  I have to trust him and obey him.
27. Do you have any advice for other writers?
Don’t say you’re going to do it! Do it!!! Do it now!  Keep writing. Remember if you like to sleep and take breaks and have a full time job.  Then you will probably not have time to promote your book.
28. Do you  have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you 1 million times thank you. For reading/purchasing I hope you love it and maybe you will reccomend it to your friends and family. And I hope that you get the new book. 
Purchase Derrick Harper “One Of Us: A Story Of Gods Favor” By Clicking On The Link Below.

email: dharperdd@aol.com

websiter: http://www.geocities.com/collano_1/photo…

One thought on “DJGBC Interview: Author Derrick Harper “One Of Us: A Story Of Gods Favor”

Leave a Reply

