DJGBC Interview: Author Glynda Gamble Linton (G.G. Linton) “Shoes On The Wrong Foot”

 DJGBC: Where are you from?
 I am from Florida City, Florida and currently living in Plantation, Florida.
 DJGBC: Tell us your latest news?
My latest news..I just learned that my book “Shoes on the Wrong Foot” made the IRS best readers
list, this is Nation wide. I will be co-hosting The Florida Coalition On Black Civic Participation “Broward Black Women’s Roundtable” April 14th with Vivica A. Fox here in Fort Lauderdale.
DJGBC: When and why did you  begin writing?
 I began writing in 2009, and started writing because I love reading and decided that I too had a story that I thought readers may enjoy reading.
DJGBC: When did you first consider yourself a writer?
 I considered myself a writer when I started getting rave reviews from my readers saying how much they really enjoyed my work, in fact I had not acknowledged myself as an author until one of my friends introduced me as an author.
DJGBC: What  inspired you to write “Shoes On The Wrong Foot”?
 As I said, I love reading, I mentioned it to my sons that I was thinking about writing and the excitement from them led me to believe that I might be able to do it, I suffered a tragedy with the murder of my oldest son, quit writing and doubt crept in, but I fought it and followed thru.
DJGBC: Do  you have a specific writing style?
 My writing style is one that is intended to draw the readers in to the story.
DJGBC: How did you come up with the title?
The title came in when CeCe exited the courthouse after her divorce and the statement she made about no matter how wonderful love is, it can be uncomfortable as wearing your shoes on the wrong foot, and that stood out, and there is where the name of the book came from.
DJGBC: Is  there a message in your “Shoes On The Wrong Foot” that you want  readers to grasp?
 Yes, I want readers to realize that relationships can be deceiving on the surface and kindness can be used against you; domestic violence can happen to any of us without warning.
DJGBC: How much of the book is realistic?
 Almost all of it is real.
DJGBC: Are experiences based  on someone you know, or events in your own life?
 Some series of events have been embellished, I used my relationship along with many of the women in my life and created CeCe.
DJGBC: What books have most  influenced your life most?
Steve Covey, The 7 Habits of Highly effective people, All writings of E. Lynn Harris and Terry McMillan.
DJGBC: If you had to choose, which writer would you  consider a mentor?
 *Sister Soulja
DJGBC: What book are you reading now?
Sarah Rose by Cateenna Davis (new author).
DJGBC: Are there any new  authors that have grasped your interest?
Kendra Norman-Bellamy
 
DJGBC: What are your current  projects?
I’m currently working on my second novel the sequel to Shoes on the Wrong foot.
DJGBC: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family  members.
Networking
DJGBC: Do you see writing as a career?
Yes
DJGBC: If you had to do it all over  again, would you change anything in your latest book?
Yes, I would have added more chapters and chose an African American editor.
DJGBC: Do you recall how your  interest in writing originated?
Yes, standing in line at Barnes and Noble with about $100 of books thinking how great it would be if my book were in someones hands and their anticipation at reading my work, day dreamed for a long time, doubting that I could ever do it, but believeing I could, so I chose to make it a reality.
DJGBC: Can you share a little of your current work  with us?
Cece is going to face the greatest challenge and heartbreak of her life.
DJGBC: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your  writing?
Yes, finding quiet time to maintain the train of thought needed to get this project completed.
DJGBC: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you  about their work?
Sistah Soulja, her work really gripped me, it held my attention and I could not put it down, the reality of her story and the way it flowed was masterful, I dreamed of my work being that awesome.
DJGBC: Do you to travel  much promoting your book?
Yes, I travel alot and while I’m on the road I take those opportunities to promote my book.
DJGBC: Who designed the covers?
CreateSpace Self Publishing Company
DJGBC: What was the  hardest part of writing your book?
Reliving some of the situations that I lived thru and putting them on paper brought back memories that I had surpressed.
DJGBC: Did you learn anything from writing your  book and what was it?
Yes, that women can overcome bad relationships and still come out standing and raise healthy successful children.
DJGBC: Do you have any advice for other writers?
You have to have a strong conviction about your dreams because there will be many challenges that will present themselves that could steal your dream, you have to know that you can work through them and staying focused, before you know it you are living your dream and those challenges are distant memories.
DJGBC: Do you  have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
This book is a testament that love can be cruel but you can survive and there are steps you can take to change the course of your life if you don’t like where its headed, this novel gives all of your emotions a workout and will be hard to put down once you start reading.
Glynda J. Linton,
Author: Shoes on the Wrong Foot
“Commitment is what transforms a promise into reality. It is the words that speak boldly of your intentions and the actions that speak louder than words. It is making time when there is none. It is coming through time after time. Commitment is the stuff character is made of; the power to change the face of things. It is the daily triumph of integrity over skepticism”.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

