DJGBC Interviews: Shante Hannon a/k/a Author D~Skies

  1. Where are you from?

I am from the south side of Chicago, born and raised.

AUTHOR D SKIES A/K/A SHANTE HANNON

AUTHOR D SKIES A/K/A SHANTE HANNON

  1. Tell us your latest news?

Well, I’m currently working on my 2nd novel, which will debut early next year. I will also be doing a few blog talk radio shows very soon. (Dates & Times posted soon)

  1. When and why did you begin writing?

I actually began writing back in the 3rd grade. My teachers used to say that I had a niche for it and that it came naturally. As a kid, I didn’t know how powerful that information was. When I grew up I started entering poetry and short story contests and won a few of them. But it wasn’t until early last year, when I had a dream that I felt was worthy of a full-fledged novel, that Derailed was born.

  1. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I first considered myself a writer at about sophomore year of high school when I won my first contest for a short story I wrote. If you were to ask me now what that story was I surely couldn’t tell you.

  1. What inspired you to write your first book?

Well, like I stated previously and in the words of Notorious BIG, “It was all a dream…” I think I had to have had that dream my entire night of sleep because when I woke up I just had to write. I literally couldn’t stop until the story was complete.

  1. Do you have a specific writing style?

I am a free writer. I like to let it flow from within without restrictions. Others have dubbed me the “Nicki Minaj” of writing, because I don’t sugar coat what I write. Some people like and others can’t handle it.

  1. How did you come up with the title?

I got together with my publisher and we thought of one word that could sum up the whole of the novel. She snapped her fingers and it was born.

  1. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Somewhat. A message that could be conveyed from my novel is that money isn’t always everything and can be stripped away from you in the blink of an eye. Blood isn’t always thicker than water so watch your back at all costs and also learn to love the ones that love you back.

  1. How much of the book is realistic?

There are a few parts of the book that are close to me. My readers can always tell which ones.

10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Most of the experiences are based on my own life but there are bits and pieces that are from my loved ones as well.

11. What books have most influenced your life most?

Oh my, there are too many to tell. The Coldest Winter Ever of course, True to the Game, a variety of Kiki Swinson books, Omar Tyree, Nikki Turner, and countless others.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

When that happens, I’ll let you know. =)

DERAILED BY AUTHOR D SKIES

DERAILED BY AUTHOR D SKIES

13. What book are you reading now?

Since I’ve been so busy lately I haven’t been getting into my reading like I should be but I’m trying to finish Kiki Swinson’s new book New York’s Finest. So far it’s really good.

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Rochelle Magee, Latanya Jones, Tajana Sutton, and I’m sure there are others that I’m forgetting.

15. What are your current projects?

Right now I’m working on my sophomore novel. I can’t tell you what it’s about or the title yet but don’t worry it will be a head banger!

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

My fans. Period. They are one and all. Without their support D~Skies would not be. So I would like to take this time and say THANK YOU to each and everyone who has supported me from the beginning.

17. Do you see writing as a career?

I totally see it as a career. I can’t think of doing anything else. I just want to write.

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I think God doesn’t give us that option for a reason. So I’m appreciative and blessed at the way things turned out and wouldn’t change it for the world.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I loved to read ever since a little kid so when I would read I would mimic the writing as well. Then once I mastered that I started using my own words and the rest is history.

20. Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Unfortunately, I can’t disclose that information at this time but I can assure you that it will blow your head back.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Not really. I find that once I focus the writing comes naturally and I see the events play out in my head like a movie.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I would have to say at the moment it’s two. Ashley and Jaquavis has slapped the industry with tons of hits and I have to say that I can’t get enough of them. I hope they keep writing hits for many years to come.

23. Do you to travel much promoting your book(s)?

I do travel but only during peak season and when the weather permits. I plan on doing more traveling in 2012 so watch out!

24. Who designed the covers?

My publisher has a superb graphic artist that does all the covers for the company, La Femme Fatale Publishing.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part about writing a book is not writing it but marketing it. Authors fail to realize the amount of hard work and knowledge it takes to market your book.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that I have so many ideas that can’t be wrapped up into one little book. So be looking forward to more novels from me.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers ?

DO YOUR HOMEWORK! Know what you’re getting yourself into, read the contracts, get to know whom you’re dealing with. If you don’t know what you’re doing then invest in a lawyer and agent. PERIOD!

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I just want to say that I love you all and Derailed is not the last you’ve read from me. I’m a new face but I’m here to stay! Thanks for the love and support

AUTHOR D SKIES A/K/A SHANTE HANNON

AUTHOR D SKIES A/K/A SHANTE HANNON

http://www.amazon.com/Derailed-D-Skies/dp/0983393249/ref=ntt_at_ep_dpt_1

http://jambalaya4u.wordpress.com

http://www.mydskies.com

http://www.goodreads.com/authordskies

AUTHOR D SKIES A/K/A SHANTE HANNON
One thought on “DJGBC Interviews: Shante Hannon a/k/a Author D~Skies

  1. Ever have dreams that took your mind to places reality couldn’t? Kristle wanted it all, money, power, and lavish possessions. But being a poor girl from the South side of Chicago, she had no idea how she was going to get it all. She busts her butt to get her finances to a generous amount using her dope girl skills when it is all whisked away on a whim. Kristle is left without a pot to piss in and has to regain her life back by fending for herself anyway she can. She finds a way to make some money and learns to live off civil means. But as things are starting to look up again they come tumbling back down with a house fire. Just as Kristle is about to give up she encounters a man that gives her a strange note. The note introduces her to an opportunity of a lifetime with a few stipulations. It’s a game that needs to be played in a timely fashion or Kristle is a dead girl. If she successfully completes her task she gets more money than she’s ever seen before in her life. What she doesn’t know is that the tasks are not ordinary and the person making her play the game is someone she least expects.

    Jeff “DJ Gatsby” Wilson

    Like

Leave a Reply

