DJGBC Interview: Andrina Watson Author of “On My Own Terms Why I Didn’t Give Up”

by Jeff Gatsby Wilson on Saturday, October 15, 2011 at 4:06pm

DJ Gatsby’s Book Club Sits Down With Author Adrina Watson as She Speaks Candidly About Her Life & Her New Book “On My Own Terms Why I Didn’t Give Up”

DJ Gatsby: Where are you from?

Bayonne, NJ

DJ Gatsby: Tell us your latest news?

Working with local high schools in Newport News, VA to help mentor teen mothers, share my story of not giving up when I:became a teen mom.  I am the National coordinator for Project Single Teen moms Mentor and empowerment program under Project Single Moms World wide.

DJ Gatsby:When and why did you begin writing?

I started writing my book a few years ago.  I have always enjoyed writing poetry and that started as a teen.  .

DJ Gatsby: When did you first consider yourself a writer

I am not sure if ever considered myself a writer until I decided to write my book and get it published.

DJ Gatsby: What inspired you to write your first book?

I became passionate about sharing with teens to help prevent teen pregnancy if possible or help to reduce multiple unplanned pregnancies for those who are teen moms.  I thought sharing my personal story would give teens a real face and a realistic view of someone who was in their shoes.

DJ Gatsby: Do you have a specific writing style?

Not really, I would just get in my zone and start writing, trying to remember the years and the order in which things happened in my life.

DJ Gatsby:How did you come up with the title?

It had to be a title that would catch the eye of a teen.  I came up with a title that would truly identify who I was and how I operate.  I ran it by my daughter and we made a decision.

DJ Gatsby: Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The message in my book I want everyone to grasp would be not to give up on your dreams and aspirations you have for your life.  Even when you fall you can get back up.  Allow your mistakes and or misery to become your ministry.

DJ Gatsby: How much of the book is realistic?

My book is all realistic.

DJ Gatsby: Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

It is moments, events and experiences of my own life.

DJ Gatsby: What books have most influenced your life most?

True stories, autobiographies are the main books I read.

DJ Gatsby: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

I am not sure, I have a few in mind

DJ Gatsby: What book are you reading now?

Steve Harvey – Straight Talk, No Chaser

DJ Gatsby: Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Rekaya Gibson, local author in VA and Larie Writes

DJ Gatsby: What are your current projects?

Continuing to speak at schools in the local Newport News, VA area is my main focus during the school year.

DJ Gatsby: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. –

Despico International Ministries

DJ Gatsby: Do you see writing as a career?

I am still undecided about that.

DJ Gatsby: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I doubt that I would… it was the most authentic writing I could give at that time as a first time writer.It was placed on my heart to put my story on paper.  It allowed me to have some closure to some painful and joyful experiences in my life.

DJ Gatsby: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? 

It was placed on my heart to put my story on paper.  It allowed me to have some closure to some painful and joyful experiences in my life.

DJ Gatsby: Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Nothing current.  My book On My Own Termz is only 1yrs old and I still need to push it.

DJ Gatsby: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Finding the time and space to write.

DJ Gatsby: Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Terry McMillan – she can capture you with non fiction and fiction attributes as a part of her story.

DJ Gatsby: Do you to travel much promoting your book(s)?

Not yet, but that is my goal

DJ Gatsby: Who designed the covers?

Areil Foreman

DJ Gatsby: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Staying in my zone when I had to playback something painful

DJ Gatsby: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned some things were still in my heart and I realized it was time to let them go.  It was truly thearaputic.

DJ Gatsby: Do you have any advice for other writers?

Start with a journal if you need to.  Be sure to capture your audience with authentic information.

DJ Gatsby: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

I appreciate any and all support.  I pray if my book touches one it can touch many.

DJ Gatsby: Thanks

Andrina Watson Author of “On My Own Terms Why I Didn’t Give Up”

Andrina Watson National Coordinator – Project Single Teen Moms mentor and empowerment program Author – On My Own Termz, Why I didn’t Give UP! Andrina Watson was born and raised in Bayonne, New Jersey. She is known for the way she truly relates and identifies with people and their circumstances.  She has a great compassion for lending her ear and heart to others. She went from the city streets to corporate America board rooms.  Andrina started her success as a leader 15 years ago, which started her journey to coaching, counseling and motivating others.  In these various positions, she found the gift that God has bestowed upon her.  Andrina is a wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend, poet, mentor and author in her own right.  She currently serves as the National Coordinator of Project Single Teen Moms – a subsidiary of Project Single Moms Worldwide – which is a mentoring and empowerment program for teen mothers.   Her journey of motherhood started as a young single teen mother and at one time a single mother of three.  Now a married mother of four who understands the sacrifices and sometime struggle of being a single mother, she wants to help our youth in any way she can. Andrina was determined to beat the odds and overcome her circumstance.  Her passion is to add to the lives of other single teen mothers and single mothers in general.  Andrina is living proof that with hard work, determination and faith you can be all that you set out to be.  She is here to share her trials and triumphs, give back and touch the lives of others.

http://www.onmyowntermz.com

http://www.projectsinglemoms.com

http://www.psmnewportnews.org

One thought on “DJGBC Interview: Andrina Watson Author of “On My Own Terms Why I Didn’t Give Up”

Leave a Reply

