Interview: Novelist Zoleka Montgomery Author Of “PoemNovel”

Interview: Novelist Zoleka Montgomery Author Of “PoemNovel”

by Jeff Gatsby Wilson on Friday, October 14, 2011 at 9:24am

Zoleka Montgomery, Was born to Yvette and Quito Montgomery in San Jose.

Zoleka @ an early age was reared by her grandmother “Grannies” to be a “strong”

and “original” woman. She was reared that she can do anything as long as she put

her mind to it, and God first. Struggling to rear her own children going through

college, she found her self in a broken relationship, and lost a child. In a

spiral state of depression this author struggled daily to get out of this state

of …..Birthed this New Novelist through the Essence.

 

DJ Gatsby Book Club A/K/A  “GBC” Recently Had The Pleasue Of Interviewing

This Fascinating & Somewhat Intriguing Author…Novelist Zoleka Montgomery

 

GBC: Where are you from?

Im from San Jose, CA but stepping out on faith, I have learned a lot of lessons from living in Oakland, CA.

 

GBC:Tell us your latest news?

The latest journey went through was taking pen to paper—paper to typing up five novels by myself.  I’m currently in the process of editing and publishing my babies

 

GBC: What inspired you to write your first book?

What inspired me was God’s amazing grace cause that spirit is the only thing that could change something so evil into beauty

 

GBC: Do you have a specific writing style?

There are to many to say but lots have said I write like a female “Iceberg Slim”

 

GBC: How did you come up with the title?

Poemnovel just as simple as what it is a Poem Novel

 

GBC: What books have most influenced your life most?

“In The Meantime” by Iyanla Vanzant

 

GBC: What are your current projects ?

I’m currently working towards finished fourth novel Essence of a Gemini

 

GBC: Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

Iyanla Vanzant

 

GBC: If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Yes that is why I am republishing know, I felt as though I personally rushed through the typing process and errors where made. Clearly I don’t want my errors to rob my work of it’s joy .  You know how people judge your work.

 

GBC: Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I’ve been a writer all my life–since I was a little girl I have been getting awards in writing.

 

GBC: Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

The challenges is there is not enough hours in the day to timely finish everything that I need to finish given the fact I don’t want to put my work out there before it is ready

 

GBC: Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

What I have learned from writing this novel is who ever said it was easy and quick was lying this is something very hard –and time consuming .

 

GBC: Do you have any advice for other writers?

My advice don’t put it off until tomorrow if you are going to do it cause like I said it doesn’t take over night to do it but you can lose it if you don’t do it.  Keep putting it off —

 

 

 

 

 

Going through it and looking back Poemnovel was the start of The Essence of Zoleka.  To tell you the truth I didn’t know that their was going to be the Essence.  I was just writing through the pain of being with someone that didn’t want me and pissed off about it.  Struggling through it Joshua and I wrote this first and last novel in this series together, in our relationship of making up, breaking up, waking up, and finally letting go with God’s Unfailing Love……          I found that the Essence didn’t really start until I experienced the lose of a child in my life, and was spiritually awakened to the “truth” ,through the healing of the Essence of Zoleka; which to the extremed changed my life forever.

 

Leave a Reply

