DJGBC Interview: Allison Essence M. Edwards Author of “Broken Promises Never Mend” , “Bound by Lies” & “BitterSweet”

1.Where are you from ? I am a native New Yorker that was born and raised in the Bronx New York.

2. Tell us your latest news?

My latest project is a novel entitled “Bittersweet” which drops in December of this year.

3. When and why did you begin writing?

Ive really been writing all my life however I decided to publish my works when I took ill in 2007. I decided after talking with T Styles that I wanted to pursue writing and she wholeheartedly stood behind me. I began to learn more about the literary industry while promoting her publishing house The Cartel Publications.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer?

I have always considered myself a writer but when I published is when I became an author. 

5. What inspired you to write your first book?

When I decided to write my first novel I was involved in an unhealthy relationship and needed to vent and voice my thoughts. Simple sentences became poems, poems became stories and stories became novels.

6. Do you have a specific writing style?

Not that I can tell. My readers would best be the judge of that. I do know that I usually always have a moral and lesson to mystories.

7. How did you come up with the title?

The titles to my novels are directly influenced by the events that take place within the pages. I want people to understand which they do, whats going on. The covers and title coincide perfectly.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

Yes, I always show a challenge between good and evil, even if there’s rarely a happy ending. Thats how life is sometimes.

9. How much of the book is realistic?

My books are very realistic. Have you watched Maury?? HAHAHA

10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Yes and the more I write the more personal they will get. I do however place certain scenarios in there that have occurred. No one will know whats true or false; just know it happened!

11. What books have most influenced your life most?

Anything by T. Styles who I was a reader of before I even joined Cartel Street Team 3 years ago. Also Zane and James Earl Hardy.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

Ive got about 4 mentors and I love em all dearly… they tell me whats wrong and whats right and push me forward to be my very best.

13. What book are you reading now?

While I am not reading anything now, I just finished “One Lyfe to Live” by Erick S. Gray. Ive got a host of books in my Kindle to read but I cant get engrossed in others before handling my own.

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I am VERY impressed with Traci Bee. She’s been receiving rave reviews on her debut novel.

15. What are your current projects?

I am currently working on an anthology project due to release end of the year. I also have my 3rd novel “Bittersweet” that releases in December 2011. I am also going to wrap up my trilogy next summer so I am very excited about that.

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family membersFACEBOOK! I

17. Do you see writing as a career?

Yes I absolutely seewriting as more of a career than hobby.  

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

Nope. I recently received a review that states it is “PERFECTLY WRITTEN”. I think I did my job well.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

I think when I was born I had a pen in my hand.

Ive always been writing and dont remember not doing so.

!

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

I find at times deadlines are a problem because I have more than one project going on as well as promoting my work so I dont like to get caught up in doing one more than the other.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I have a few favorites but Im going tohave to say T. Styles since I have been under her thumb for many years andlearned a great deal regarding writing and publishing.

DJ Gatsby & Allison M. Edwards

Unfortunately I had to cease traveling for a while but in 2012 I am going to begin traveling and doing a book tour. I want to show other states my work and have them meet me and see what I, the author is about.

24. Who designed thecovers?

All covers are done by myself in conjunction with a graphic designer.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part is the marketing of it. Its great to write a book but if no one knows then it makes no sense

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

I learned that the industry is what you make it. No one will support or believe in you if you dont believe in yourself.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers?

RESEARCH RESEARCH RESEARCH

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Thanks so much for the support and as usual I luv yall to pieces! If you havent,youre missing out!

Entrepreneur/ Author of “Broken Promises Never Mend” & “Bound by Lies” available on amazon.com~


2 thoughts on “DJGBC Interview: Allison Essence M. Edwards Author of “Broken Promises Never Mend” , “Bound by Lies” & “BitterSweet”

  1. Allison Essence M Edwards
    Is a great author and a fantastic person. She has written 3 books and shows no signs of stopping anytime soon. Her latest book “Bittersweet” is getting rave reviews on both Amazon.com & Barnes & Noble. Don’t miss out on the opportunity to check out her other books….”Broken Promises Never Mend” & “Bound by Lies”……If you are looking to get a book to read, check out Allison Essence M Edwards……Jeff DJ Gatsby” of DJ Gatsby’s Book Club

    Like

Leave a Reply

