DJGBC Interview : Adrienne Thompson Author of “Bluesday”

DJGBC INTERVIEW: Adrienne Thompson Author of “Bluesday”

by Jeff Gatsby Wilson on Wednesday, August 10, 2011 at 10:49pm

1. Where are you from?

Arkansas

2. Tell us your latest news? –

I’m going to be a very young and cute grandmother for the first time in February!

My daughter and her husband are expecting their first child.

Oh, and I just published my first novel, lol.

3. When and why did you begin writing? –

I’ve always been a natural storyteller. In the past, I mostly wrote poetry.

I’d long wanted to write a book, but had convinced myself I couldn’t.

After much prayer, the stories just started to come and I’ve been writing ever since.

That was three years ago.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? –

I’ve always considered myself a writer.

I’ve always been better at written communication than spoken communication.

5. What inspired you to write your first book? –

The stories and voices in my head wouldn’t

hush! When a story wants to be told, you pretty much don’t have a choice but to tell it.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? –

Hmm, I try to write in an easy flow. I

like stories that are easy to follow and very well-written.

So I try to emulate that style.

7. How did you come up with the title?

Things with my writing are kind of organic.

The stories tend to write and name themselves.

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? –

The reader should grasp that no matter the state of your brokenness,

healing and restoration is still possible.

9. How much of the book is realistic? –

All of it is very realistic. I write about real women with real issues and real problems.

10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?-

Of course, as with any writer, there arelittle pieces of me and my life in the book.

There are also pieces of my family members’ and friends’ lives as well.

Bobbie, the main character, is a very co-dependent person.

This is something I struggled with for years.

11. What books have most influenced your life most? –

I am a huge fan of mysteries and suspense thrillers, although I don’t write either

genre. But, by and large, I am influenced by romance novels. Growing up, I was a huge romance fan. I probably read 300 romance novels before I was 18-years-old.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? –

I can’t say that I necessarily have a writer/mentor, but Julia Press Simmons has been a great friend in the

industry.

13. What book are you reading now? –

“Cat and Mouse” by James Patterson

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

Ernessa T. Carter. I think “32 Candles” is a great book and I’m happy for her success.

15. What are your current projects? –

I’m preparing for the release of my secondnovel, “Been So Long” this winter.

Also working on “Lovely Blues”, the follow-up to “Bluesday” and “Summertime”, a fantasy romance novel.

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members. –

My co-workers have been very supportive. (I am an RN).

17. Do you see writing as a career?

Yes! That would be my ultimate dream come true!

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

No, I can’t say that I would.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

When I was in 4th grade, I decided I wanted to write a book and I actually tried.

I can’t say that I really know why, though.

20. Can you share a little of your current work with us? –

Sure!

Here’s an excerpt from Bluesday:

…been out all damn night, Clyde! That’s what’s wrong! What kind of man just

leaves his wife alone all night and don’t even call her?!” “Aw that? Baby, the car broke down. I ended up sleeping in it all night.” he said matter-of-factly.

“Clyde that’s a rental. All you had to do was call the number on the key.”

He shrugged his shoulders. “My phone went dead. I called ‘em this morning. It’s

running fine now.” Bobbie shook her head. “Clyde Morgan, you a damn lie and you know it. You ain’t slept in no car! I promise when I catch you into whatever you into, I’ma leave you. You can best believe that! And I’m taking all of my money with me.”

“Why you coming at me like that, Bobbie?” He said, raising his voice as he stood up

from the sofa. His light brown skin was now a dark shade of pink. “You threatening me? You better watch your mouth, little girl.”

Bobbie stuck her neck out. “Or else what? What you think you gonna do, Clyde Morgan? I’m your meal ticket.”

Clyde clenched his fists. “You know what I’m gonna do. You keep talking and I’ma show you,” he said  icily.

Bobbie looked at his hands and backed down. She talked a good game, but she and Clyde had fought physically before and it was not pretty. The last thing she needed to get right before a performancewas a black eye or a busted lip. Those things were too hard to conceal.

She lowered her voice. “Clyde, you need to stop treating me like this. You supposed to love me. You can’t keep disrespecting me like this. I’m your wife. Why can’t you treat me like one?”

He frowned and held up his hand. “Don’t start that mess Bobbie. You know the hell I love you. I take care of you and you ain’tnever had to worry about nothing, have you?”

Bobbie dropped her eyes and shook her head.

“Now, come on over here and I’ll show you just how much I love you,” Clyde said, his voice softer. Bobbie walked over to Clyde and he pulled her into a sloppy kiss. I’ma need a drink to get through this

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing? –

Time! I am a divorced mother and I work full-time, so finding the time to write without

neglecting my responsibilities is always a challenge.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

I’d have to say James Patterson and what strikes me about his work is that it’s consistently good!

23. Do you to travel much promoting your book(s)?

no, but I hope to be able to in the future.

24. Who designed the covers?

Mr. Corey A. Burkes.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? –

Having the courage to let others read it. It’s my baby!

No one wants to take a chance on someone taking bad about their baby, lol.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? –

With commitment and determination, you can ccomplish anything.

I never thought I’d be able to say that I’m a published author, but here I am!

27.Do you have any advice for other writers?

Nevergive up and don’t listen to the naysayers. If you’ve got a story to tell, then tell it!

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers? –

Thank you!!!!

It is hard to fail,but it is worse never to have tried to succeed.

Theodore Roosevelt

http://adriennethompsonwrites.webs.com

LikeUnlike · · Unfollow PostFollow Post · Share · Delete

Leave a Reply

