INTERVIEW: DAWN JASPER AUTHOR OF BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS & FAMILIAR STRANGERS

 INTERVIEW: DAWN JASPER AUTHOR OF BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS & FAMILIAR STRANGERS

by Jeff Gatsby Wilsonon Sunday, September 11, 2011 at 10:52a

1. Where are you from? A little town called Rembert in South

Carolina

2. Tell us your latest news? Well my debut novel “Beautiful

Disasters” was just released July 8th and the sequel is tentatively

scheduled for October.

3. When and why did you begin writing? I wrote a soap opera

when I was eight years old. I’ve always had an overactive imagination. If I

wasn’t reading something then I was writing something.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? Good

question. I never considered myself a writer until I got published. Before that

it was just a hobby, something to pass the time.

5. What inspired you to write your first book? I had a

stalking situation and I thought “Damn the truth really is stranger than

fiction!” I was going to write my first book about how everything went down but

one day I was sitting in music class and I wrote a conversation between two

people. I didn’t know their names, genders or anything. The only thing I knew

was they were sleeping with the same woman. Then the insomnia kicked in. From

there I started writing notes on Facebook. People were reading them and

actually liking them. I guess it was really my friends who eased me into

writing the book and getting it published.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? I don’t feel I have

a writing style per say. I’m still new to this so I don’t have rhyme or reason

just yet, I just write.

7. How did you come up with the title? My main characters are

exactly that “beautiful disasters”. People tend to assume that “beautiful” people

don’t have problems and that is so not the case. They aren’t immune to

destruction, they are just may be better hiding it than most…

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to

grasp? It maybe cliché but everything that glitters ain’t gold and every

beautiful face has a story to tell.  The

thing about my book is there are so many messages that you could take from the

book but you have to open yourself up to find the one that you can relate too.

9. How much of the book is realistic? I based parts of the

book in and around my hometown so I used real places in the story but the whole

story is realistic. Any of it can happen to anyone.

10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in

your own life? I end up writing myself into every book I write (I’m working on

11) and occasionally close friends may slip in, well their characteristics do

anyway.

11. What books have most influenced your life most? Wow

there are so many! I’ve been reading since I was three….Dr. Suess, Green Eggs

and Ham is my favorite hands down. Alice Walker, Danielle Steele, Steven King,

Dean Knootz, V.C. Andrews, Judy Blume, Zane, Mary B Morrison, Lillian Jackson

Braun, Eric Jerome Dickey, Vanessa Miller, Beverly Jenkins…this list really

could go on forever

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a

mentor? There is no way I could choose. There are so many I admire for

different reasons, there would be too much to learn so I could narrow it down.

13. What book(s) are you reading now? Airing Out Dirty Laundry by Latisha Patterson and Hard Times An Erotic Thriller by Tawayne

“Tawa” McNeil

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your

interest? I really loved Shakara Cannon’s

This

Can’t be Lifeand I can’t wait for the sequel. I’m trying my hardest to get

some more reading some in my spare time.

15. What are your current projects? I am working on the

sequel to BD “Familiar Strangers”

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of

family members.

17. Do you see writing as a career? That is my ultimate goal

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change

anything in your latest book? Not one thing, I loved the whole experience and I

think it was very good for a first timer. Everything happens for a reason

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  Watching soap operas with my Granny when I was

younger. I would rewrite them how I thought they should go

20. Can you share a little of your current work with us?

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in

your writing? My characters have a mind of their own and I pretty much have to

give them free will.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really

strikes you about their work?

23. Do you to travel much promoting your book(s)? Slowly but

surely I’m getting out. I have 3 book signings scheduled the end of August down

in SC

24. Who designed the covers? Donna Osborne Clark did both

covers

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? Finding

the time to do it! I was working full time, in school full time and I have 3

kids. I guess having insomnia was a good thing, I felt like I had more hours in

the day.

26. Did you learn anything from writing your book and what

was it? It’s a lot more to it than simply writing a book. You have to get

aligned with the right people, people who are going to work with you not

against you. You need to do your research, ask questions. Nothing is going to

get handed to you and if it is be leery.

27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Everything is

not for everybody so instead of trying to be the next whomever work on being

the only you. No two authors are the same so find your niche and work with it.

28. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to

your readers? I want my readers to enjoy reading my books as much as I enjoy

writing them. Place yourself in the book and just let go, you’ll be amazed at

what you’ll find

LikeUnlike · · Unfollow PostFollow Post · Share · Delete

One thought on “INTERVIEW: DAWN JASPER AUTHOR OF BEAUTIFUL DISASTERS & FAMILIAR STRANGERS

Leave a Reply

