INTERVIEW: CATEENNA DAVIS AUTHOR OF “SARAH ROSE”

DJ GATSBY’S BOOK CLUB INTERVIEW: CATEENNA DAVIS AUTHOR OF “SARAH ROSE”

by Jeff Gatsby Wilson on Sunday, September 11, 2011 at 10:06am

1. Where are you from?

Wisconsin

2. Tell us your latest news?

3. When and why did you begin writing? I started writing as an outlet, when

I was 12. As an adult I wrote as an outlet then noticed my outlet and a sort of

story vibe about it.

4. When did you first consider yourself a writer? After a few encouraging

words from my husband, and rereading Sarah Rose.

5. What inspired you to

write your first

book? Angry, frustration, I needed an outlet.

6. Do you have a specific writing style? I don’t think I do. I just sit and

let it happen

7. How did you come up with the title? The main character gave it to me.

lol

8. Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp? No, no

message just plain entertainment.

9. How much of the book is realistic? None

10. Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

OH Lord no! LOL

11. What books have most influenced your life most? Well I really like

fiction, the kind of books I enjoy reading would never influence me in anyway.

If they did I’d be in the loony bin right now.

12. If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor? HUMMM

tough, but i have to say Lolita Files

13. What book are you reading now? Demon Day

14. Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest? Yes there is

one

15. What are your current projects? Right now I am working on my second

novel, untitled as of yet, and i hope to be able to put together a book expo for

next year.

16. Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.

No one… except God… sad right 🙂

17. Do you see writing as a career? Most definitely

18. If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your

latest book? Nope I had the chance to do that. After all the novel took 10 years

to write.

19. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated? Yes as an

outlet.

20. Can you share a little of your current work with us? Sure, this one is

about a young girl (orphaned) living in a group home. Until one day she finds

out she is not really human.

21. Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your writing?

Yes, figuring out how to keep the reader reading, while not dragging the

storyline out or making it to short. No to mention the keeping the plot

interesting.

22. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you

about their work? Lolita Files, the use of dialogue in her work is what keeps me

coming back to her. I love good chatter between characters. I like to allow the

characters to tell the story.

23. Do you to travel much promoting your

book(s)? Not yet…

24. Who designed the covers? I did.

25. What was the hardest part of writing your book? Staying on top of the

writing and keeping each event in line.

26. Did you learn anything

from writing your book and what was it?

27. Do you have any advice for other writers? Ummm… Treat your writing

like a movie, if you can’t see it in your head then neither can anyone

else.

28. Do you have anything specific that you

want to say to your readers? Thank you for your support. I read each and every

email

Leave a Reply

