DJGBC Interview: Author RJ Champ “A Beautiful Satan”

1. Where are you from?  I am a native Washingtonian born and bred in Uptown, NW DC.
2. Tell us your latest news?  Well m y latest project is the sequel to “A  Beautiful Satan,” which is entitled “A Beautiful Satan II – Natasha’s  Wrath.”  Part 2 is due for release before the years’ end.
3.  Where and why did you begin writing? Well, I’ve been writing  pretty much my entire life, some years back after a near fatal  automobile accident, my passion for writing intensified dramatically.   At that moment I decided to venture out into the literary domain.
4.  When did you first consider yourself a writer?  As a writer,  I’ve been writing pretty much my entire life.  When my material was  published by my current publisher, DCBookdiva, that’s when I became an  author.
5.  What inspired you to write your first book?  Inspiration from  my first book came from my life experiences as a bachelor dealing with  women, the endless conversations with women and eventually as a married  man.  I gathered insight using a woman’s perspective to form, shape and  eventually breathe life into my first book.
6.  Do you have a specific writing style?  As an author, I would  like to think that I have my own signature style of writing. But at the  end of the day, I think my readers would best make that call.
7.  How did you come up with the title?  The title to my book “A Beautiful  Satan” describes the main character in the story; a woman name Angel  who’s Beautiful inside and out, but she has a dark and evil alter-ego  named Natasha – Hence, Satan.
8.  Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to  grasp?  Of course, my intention with this novel was to highlight the  adverse effects that infidelity cast over relationships.  Also, I wanted to do it in a way that captivated my readers attention, so I put a dark and twisted spin on the story.
9.  How much of the book is realistic?  A Beautiful Satan is very  realistic…it’s a wake up call for those who indulge in infidelic  behavior.  It’s the kind of book that will make you pause and ponder for a moment.
10.  Are experiences based on someone you know, or events in your  own life?  Most certainly, as an author, for me to breathe life into my  work, parts of my life and my world are intertwined within my work. That combination of reality and fiction blended together is what draws your  readers into the story so that they can feel and identify with the  characters and the story as a whole.
11.  What books have most influenced your life most?  Well, I’ve  been heavy into suspense thrillers for a number of years, so I’d have to say my influences are within that genre.
12.  If you had to  choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?  Well, I have a  handful of mentors I network with, and their input and advice helps to  guide and shape my material.
13.  What book are you reading now?  Nothing at the moment, busy  concentrating on finishing up my latest project.  But the next book on  my list to read is Bridal Bliss by Janae M. Robinson, a new author who’s making her presence felt.  I have a number of books on my To-Read-List, but my material is first and foremost at the moment.
14.  Are there any new authors that have grasped your attention?   I’m excited to see Janae M. Robinson.  I’m looking for her debut novel  to make some noise.
15.  What are your current projects?  The  second installment, “A Beautiful Satan II – Natasha’s Wrath” is in  production and coming soon.  I also have a short story, “A Beautiful  Mess” that’s coming out on e-books in the very near future.  Currently, I am putting the finishing touches on my latest novel, “Heaven’s Revenge” which I’m very excited about.
16.  Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family  members?  I’d have to say my writers group.  We fed off one anothers’  drive and determination, and we pushed each other to stay focused and  succeed.
17.  Do you see writing as a career?  Yes, that’s the motivation behind my drive.
18.  If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?  No, not at all.
19.  Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?  I’ve always had a fascination with writing as far back as I can remember, but on my 9th birthday my aunt gave me an odd birthday present – a collection of H.G. Wells novels.  After reading Food Of The Gods, I was amazed to see an  entire movie written within the pages! from that moment on my interest  in writing an literature flourished.
20.  Can you share a little of your current work with us?  Here is a small excerpt from my latest novel “A Beautiful Satan” available at  DCBookdiva.com, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and where ever books are  sold.
         Five minutes hadn’t passed before Natasha emerged from the stairwell.  She looked around and felt as if the long, deserted  corridor was closing in on her.  Her entire being was about to explode  as she walked toward unit 1206.
         She stood at the door breathing heavily as her trembling  fingers moved along the door frame.  She drew a long, serrated blade  from inside her black North Face and rang the doorbell.
          Tina walked out of the bedroom combing her hair.  She smiled knowingly  before she answered the door.  “Yeah, I knew you wanted–”  Her smile  vanished when she saw a blonde, blue-eyed Angel framed in her  doorway. Tina was shocked.
           “Girl, what in the hell have you done to yourself?” she asked, amazed.
           Natasha’s eyes glittered with an unholy light that made her tremble  uncontrollably.  “Whore!” she snarled between clinched teeth.  Then with the fury of a demon’s tempest, she began stabbing Tina.
            A blood-curdling scream reverberated along the vacant  hall for a chilling second before the loud slam of a door drowned it  out.  Silence rang out through the deserted corridor, leaving an ominous chill in the air.
21.  Is there anything you find particularly challenging in your  writing?  I have a passion for writing, so I challenge myself every time I pick up the pen; I’m creating new characters and new story lines and  new twists and new plots that will captivate and entertain my readers  and keep them in suspense and wanting more.
22.  Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  Well, I have a handful of favorites, but at the  top of my list I’d have to say Eric Jerome Dickey.  His writing style is creative and unique, and the way his story lines flow, I find his  material very intriguing.
23.  Do you travel much promoting your books?  Lately, I’ve had to  curtail my travelling due to other obligations, but in the very near  future I plan to pick up the pace.
24.  What was the hardest part of writing your book?  I would have to say the editing process…seemed like forever.
25.  Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was  it?  Writing a book entails a great deal of concentration, imagination,  and self-motivation.  The moment you type or write The End… I learned  that’s when the work begins.
26.  Do you have any advice for other writers?  First and foremost, do your research, learn about industry standards and get a feel for the road ahead.  Next, don’t allow another soul to deter you from your  dreams! People are dream killers!  If it’s in your heart and you’re  passionate about your work, stay focused and let nothing stop you.

27.  Do you have anything  specific that you want to say to your readers?  I would like to say  thank you and I appreciate all the love and support that my readers have shown me on this literary journey.  Trust & Believe, you will not  be disappointed by my new projects that are coming soon to a book outlet near you.

One thought on “DJGBC Interview: Author RJ Champ “A Beautiful Satan”

  1. RJ’s style of writing captivates the reader from beginning to end. Unlike most suspense thrillers there is a gradual build up to climatic point, however in A Beautiful Satan, there are many twists and turns. Mystery, intrigue, and the anticipation of what’s going to happen next keeps the reader on the edge of their seat. Can’t wait for book 2 and the short story. Everything this author pens will be on my must read list as well as it should be on yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

